Back - List of Pavilions

Ontario - Expo Osaka 1970

Ontario at the Exhibition Expo Osaka 1970
© Expo'70

Canada's most populous and prosperous province has a dramatic 70mm colour film made by Christopher Chapman, the Ontario producer-director who won a Hollywood Academy Award with his film for the Ontario pavilion at Expo 67 in Montreal.

The Ontario pavilion, which occupies a 31,000 square foot site, is a blue and white structure made of prefabricated steel panels and cylindrical steel posts. The two-level pavilion is a modern example of rapid construction and assembly techniques.

Inside, the presentation is entirely audiovisual. The film shows the people of the province in a festive spirit, as well as some of the beautiful nature shots, including the impressive Niagara Falls.

Another exhibit is an innovative multi-display presentation that greets visitors after they enter the pavilion. It is a dazzling 12-minute sequence of colour photographs projected by a carousel of 26 projectors. The history of Ontario's wilderness, rural suburbs, urban development, production, construction, transportation, communication, education, recreation and spiritual life is seen on a 30 metre (98 foot) long screen. The radically different equipment from what is normally used is projected and is known as the Modular Communication Vehicle, the first of its kind.

The film, the second part of the pavilion's exhibition, is shown in a cinema with a capacity of 525 people. The large screen is 27.5 metres (90 feet) by 11 metres (36 feet) and in a 120-degree parabolic curve to give the impression of enveloping the audience.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Ontario


Ontario à l'exposition de Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

La province la plus peuplée et plus prospère du Canada dispose d'un film 70mm couleur dramatique faite par Christopher Chapman, le producteur-réalisateur de l'Ontario qui a remporté un "Hollywood Academy Award" avec son film pour le pavillon de l'Ontario à l'Expo 67 de Montréal.

Le pavillon de l'Ontario, qui occupe un site 31000 pieds carrés, est une structure bleue et blanche faite de panneaux en acier préfabriqués et des poteaux en acier cylindrique. Le pavillon à deux niveaux est un exemple moderne de techniques de construction et montage rapide.

A l'intérieur, la présentation est entièrement audiovisuelle. Le film montre la population de la province dans un esprit de fête, ainsi que quelques-uns des magnifiques prises de vues de la nature, dont les impressionnantes chutes du Niagara.

Une autre exposition est une présentation novatrice multi-affichage qui accueille les visiteurs après leur entrée sur le pavillon. C'est une éblouissante séquence 12 minutes de photographies couleurs projetée par un carrousel de 26 projecteurs. L'histoire de la nature sauvage de l'Ontario, à la banlieue rurale du développement urbain, production, construction, transport, communication, éducation, loisirs et vie spirituelle est vu sur un écran de 30 mètres de long (98 pieds). L'équipement radicalement différent de ce qui est utilisé normalement est projetée et est connu comme étant le véhicule de communication modulaire, est le premier en son genre.

Le film, la deuxième partie de l'exposition du pavillon, est projeté dans un cinéma d'une capacité de 525 personnes. Le grand écran est de 27,5 mètres (90 pieds) par 11 mètres (36 pieds) et dans une forme coube parabolique de 120 degrés pour donner l'impression d'envelopper le public.