Japan World Exposition - Osaka 1970 - Expo'70

Human progress and harmony

March 15, 1970 - September 13, 1970


Back - List of Pavilions

Nigeria

Nigeria at the Exhibition Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

With a population of 60 million, Nigeria is the largest country in Africa. It is located on the west coast and became independent on 1 October 1960.

Nigeria lives mainly from agriculture, with 80% of the working population in farming, fishing, forestry, etc. Key products are groundnuts, of which it is the world's largest producer; cocoa (second largest producer); palm oil, used in margarine and soap; plam kernel, used in animal feed; timber (about 40 varieties are now exported), and cotton. Manufacturing industries are however established and a steel complex was under consideration.

The main mineral resources currently exploited are oil, gas, coal, cassiterite (containing 80% tin) and columbite. There is also lead, zinc, bauxite and iron ore.


Trade with Japan is well established, with Nigeria importing manufactured goods and machinery and exporting groundnuts, cocoa, cottonseed and timber. At the time, low sulphur oil is likely to be Nigeria's most important export to Japan in the near future.

Nigeria is the country with 12 federal states. The three eastern states attempted to secede in May 1967, as "Biafra". A civil war ensued, which ended in January 1970 with the leaders of the small secessionist region proclaiming loyalty to Nigeria and declaring: "The Republic of Biafra no longer exists".

Because of its cultural and linguistic diversity, Nigeria is rich with a variety of folklore, dance and art. But fortunately, this rich cultural background does not hinder progress, but rather reinforces it with the self-respect and self-confidence that are so necessary for development. As the theme of the pavilion proclaimed: "Nigeria looks to the future".

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Nigéria


Nigéria à l'exposition de Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

Avec une population de 60 millions d'habitants, le Nigeria est le plus grand pays en Afrique. C'est sur la côte ouest qu'il se situe et est devenu indépendant le 1er Octobre 1960.

Le Nigeria vit principalement de l'agriculture, avec 80% de la population active dans l'agriculture, la pêche, les forêts, etc. produits clés sont les arachides, dont elle est le premier producteur au monde; de cacao (deuxième producteur); l'huile de palme, utilisé dans la margarine et du savon; noyau de plame, utilisés dans l'alimentation animale; le bois (environ 40 variétés sont maintenant exportés), et le coton . Les industries manufacturières sont cependant établis et un complexe sidérurgique était à l'étude.

Les principales ressources minérales actuellement exploitées sont le pétrole, le gaz, le charbon, la cassitérite (contenant 80% d'étain) et de la columbite. Il ya aussi le plomb, le zinc, la bauxite et de minerai de fer.


Le commerce avec le Japon est bien établi, le Nigeria important des biens manufacturés et des machines et exportant des arachides, le cacao, graines de coton et le bois. A l'époque, La faible teneur en soufre du pétrole est susceptible d'être l'exportation la plus importante du Nigeria au Japon dans un avenir proche.

Nigéria est le pays avec 12 États fédéraux. Les trois Etats de l'Est a tenté de faire sécession en mai 1967, comme «Biafra». Une guerre civile s'en est suivie, qui a pris fin en Janvier 1970 avec les dirigeants de la petite région sécessionniste qui proclamèrent la fidélité au Nigeria et en déclarant: «La République du Biafra n'existe plus".

En raison de sa diversité culturelle et linguistique, le Nigeria est riche avec une variété de folklore, la danse et l'art. Mais heureusement, ce riche passé culturel n'entrave pas le progrès, mais plutôt il la renforce avec le respect de soi et la confiance en soi qui sont si nécessaires pour Développement. Comme le thème du pavillon proclamait: "Le Nigeria regarde vers l'avenir".