Japan World Exposition - Osaka 1970 - Expo'70

Human progress and harmony

March 15, 1970 - September 13, 1970


Back - List of Pavilions

Kodak

Kodak at the Exhibition Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

Among the multitude of pavilions at Expo'70, the Kodak Pavilion is the only one co-sponsored by an American and Japanese company. It identifies "Photography as a universal language".

A six-sided glass tower highlights the Kodak "Golden Photo Pavilion". The 22.5 metre high glass tower is surrounded from top to bottom by a ramp from which visitors can photograph many memorable views of the exhibition.

Other major elements of the pavilion are two smaller, brightly coloured towers. Each tower also has six sides, and are painted alternately in red and yellow.

Visitors can enter the pavilion at ground level, or via the ramp around the glass tower, or the sloping bridge across the glass tower on the second level.

The four-storey golden glass tower is one of the main exhibition areas, and contains one of the wonders of Expo'70. The tower of smiling faces, a kaleidoscope of colour prints passing through the centre of a pool of water.

Advanced audio-visual techniques, showcases of photography and the role it plays in this age of space exploration and expanding technology are presented in four other exhibition areas of the pavilion, but with the recognition of the family of man and the enjoyment of life.

The other exhibition areas featured are respectively entitled "Photography is an Instrument", "Photography is for Remembering", "Photography is Fun" and "Photography is a Universal Eye", where photography is recognised as an art.

The Kodak pavilion also offers a photographic information centre to assist visitors on photographic issues. The pavilion is on the south side of the pond, almost opposite the Monday Plaza conveyor belt.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Kodak


Kodak à l'exposition de Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

Parmi la multitude de pavillons à Expo'70, le Pavillon Kodak le seul co-parrainé par une société américaine et la société japonaise. Il identifie la "Photographie en tant que language universel".

Une tour de verre à six faces met en évidence le"Pavillon de la la photo en or" Kodak. La tour de verre de 22,5 mètres de haut est entourée de haut en bas par une rampe à partir de laquelle les visiteurs peuvent photographier de nombreuses vues mémorables de l'exposition.

D'autres éléments majeurs du pavillon sont deux tours de plus petit diamètre de couleurs vives . Chaque tour possède également six côtés, et sont peintes alternativement en rouges et jaunes.

Les visiteurs peuvent entrer dans le pavillon au niveau du sol, ou par la rampe qui entoure la tour de verre, ou le pont en pente qui traverse la tour de verre au deuxième niveau.

La tour de verre dorée de quatre étages est l'une des zones d'exposition principale, et elle renferme l'une des merveilles de Expo'70. La tour de visages souriants, un kaléidoscope d'impressions couleur passant au centre d'un bassin d'eau.

Les techniques avancées d'audio-visuel, les vitrines de la photographie et le rôle qu'elle joue dans cette ère de l'exploration spatiale et de la technologie en expansion sont présentés dans quatre autres salles d'exposition du pavillon, mais avec la reconnaissance de la famille de l'homme et la jouissance de la vie.

Les autres zones d'exposition présentent sont respectivement intitulé "La photographie est un instrument", "La photographie est pour se souvenir", "La photographie est Fun» et «La photographie est un œil universel", où la photographie est reconnue comme un art.

Le pavillon Kodak offre également un centre d'information photographiques pour aider les visiteurs sur des questions photographiques. Le pavillon est sur le côté sud de l'étang, presque en face du tapis roulant du Monday Plaza.