Back - List of Pavilions

Japan -

Japan at the Exhibition Expo Osaka 1970
© Expo'70
Architect(s) : Nikken Sekkei

As the host nation, Japan built by far the largest pavilion at Expo'70.

Five tall drum-like structures surround an 80-metre (260-foot) high tower. From above, the grouping resembles a cherry blossom, which is both the emblem and the flower of the National Expo. Each of the five halls is 58 metres (90 feet) in diameter and 27 metres, nearly 90 feet, high.

Under the theme "Japan and the Japanese", the pavilion presents the past and present of the country and its people in their various aspects. Then it looks to the future, when the world will know more about Japan and the Japanese will have realized their dreams.

The Japanese Pavilion tells the story of how the Expo'70 theme, "Progress and Harmony for Mankind", sprouted and blossomed, like a cherry blossom. Exhibits, therefore, emphasise the 'progress' that has made Japan's historical development more than just a 'time lapse'. You see the contemporary industry and culture and the hopes for the 21st century. Exhibitions also highlight the harmony of a Japan that has taken advantage of both Eastern and Western cultures and has built on this dual characteristic a dynamic and unique culture.

Therefore, exhibitions are organised in the three sections "Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow", Mukaski, Ima and Asu. It is understandable to begin with that you follow the flow of history by entering through hall 1 and proceeding clockwise through the other halls.

After being transported down the 42-metre, almost 140-metre escalators to the bottom of the tower, you are in Hall 1 and the Mukashi section, 'the past'. Photos, reproductions and other media show the history of Japan. From time immemorial, as represented by the clay doll "Haniwa". In the past, when an aristocratic culture followed the introduction of Buddhism. The Kamakura and Muromachi eras: the absorption of the Chinese Sung and Ming cultures and the creation of Japan's own Zen culture. The Azuchi-Momoyama era, the "golden culture". The Edo period, with its merchant culture. And the Meiji period, which introduced Western culture and the contemporary era.

Hall 2, under the theme, Ima or Today, bears witness to the large scale and dynamic growth of Japanese industry and the energy of the Japanese people. A giant steel wall, in the shape of the rear section of a 300,000 tonne tanker, symbolises this rapidly growing industry. Its surfaces incorporate screens and models. This room also shows the daily life of the Japanese and their constant progress.

Also, under the theme of Ima, Hall 3 focuses on the sun and water. There is "Japanese nature and its use" and an exploration of the relationship between nature and man. There is a "forest of statistics" showing, through slides, the population, industry and life in Japan. There is the "Sea of Japan" where you can enjoy a simulated underwater journey and learn about the fishing industry and wave power generation.

Hall 4 is a kind of place where the latest technologies from Japan are presented: a linear motor car, items to explore Antarctica, an earthquake-proof structure. In addition, the "Little World Hall" shows you what is happening in 17 places in the world at the same time and "Illusions" tests your sense of balance.

You enter Hall 5. Asu or Tomorrow, the theme and film is called "Japan and the Japanese" which is the main attraction. It is displayed on a giant screen, 48 metres wide (157 feet), the production became possible only with the development of an eight optic camera of a quite special type. Among other features of Tomorrow is "Japan in the 21st Century", four research organizations use animations and models that envision an ideal Japan in the future.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Japon


Japon à l'exposition de Osaka 1970

© Expo'70
Architecte(s) : Nikken Sekkei

Comme le Japon est la nation hôte de l'exposition, celui çi a construit de loin le plus grand pavillon de Expo'70.

Cinq structures élevées en forme de tambour entourent une tour de 80 mètres (260 pieds) de haut. D'en haut, le groupement ressemble à une fleur de cerisier, qui est à la fois l'emblème et la fleur de Expo nationale. Chacune des cinq salles fait 58 mètres (90 pieds) de diamètre et 27 mètres, près de 90 pieds, de haut.

Sous le thème «Le Japon et les Japonais", le pavillon présente le passé et le présent du pays et de son peuple sous leurs divers aspects. Ensuite, Puis il se penche sur l'avenir, quand le monde connaîtra mieux le Japon et quand les Japonais auront réalisé leurs rêves.

Le Pavillon japonais raconte comment le thème Expo'70, "Progrès et harmonie pour l'humanité», a germé et fleuri, comme une fleur de cerisier. Expositions, par conséquent, insistent sur le «progrès» qui a fait de l'évolution historique du Japon plus qu'un simple «laps de temps". Vous voyez l'industrie et de la culture contemporaine et les espoirs pour le 21e siècle. Expositions également soulignent l'harmonie d'un Japon qui a su tiré parti les deux cultures orientale et occidentale et a construit sur cette double caractéristique une culture dynamique et unique en son genre.

Par conséquent, des expositions sont organisées dans les trois sections "d'hier, aujourd'hui et demain", Mukaski, Ima et Asu. ll est compréhensible pour commencer que vous suiviez le flux de l'histoire en entrant par le hall 1 et en contunuant dans le sens horaire à travers les autres halls.

Après avoir été transporté par des escaliers mécaniques de 42 mètres, près de 140 mètres, en bas de la tour, vous êtes dans le hall 1 et la section Mukashi, "le passé". Photos, reproductions et d'autres médias montrent l'histoire du Japon. Des temps immémoriaux, comem representé par la poupée d'argile "Haniwa". Autrefois, quand une culture aristocratique a suivi l'introduction du bouddhisme. Les époques Kamakura et Muromachi: l'absorption des cultures chinoises Sung et Ming ainsi que la création de sa propre culture Zen du Japon. L'ère Azuchi-Momoyama, la "culture d'or". La période Edo, avec sa culture marchande. Et l'ère Meiji qui introduisit la culture occidentale et l'époque contemporaine.

Hall 2, sous le thème, Ima ou Aujourd'hui, témoigne de la grande échelle et une croissance dynamique de l'industrie japonaise et de l'énergie du peuple japonais. Un mur d'acier géant, en forme de la section arrière d'un tanker de 300000 tonnes, symbolise cette industrie à croissance rapide. Ses surfaces intègrent des écrans et des maquettes. Cette salle montre également la vie quotidienne des Japonais et leur progression constante.

Aussi, sous le thème de Ima, Hall 3 met l'accent sur le soleil et l'eau. Il ya "nature japonaise et son utilisation" et une exploration des relations entre la nature et l'homme. Il ya une "forêt de statistiques" montrant, grâce à des diapositives , la population, l'industrie et la vie au Japon. Il ya la mer "du Japon" où vous pourrez profiter d'un voyage sous-marin simulé et en apprendre davantage sur l'industrie de la pêche et la production d'énergie par les vagues.

Hall 4 est une sorte de place où les toutes dernières technologies du Japon sont présentées: une voiture à moteur linéaire, articles pour explorer l'Antarctique, une structure à l'épreuve de tremblement de terre. En outre, le «Little World Hall" vous montre ce qui se passe dans 17 endroits dans le monde en même temps et «Illusions» teste votre sens de l'équilibre.

Vous entrez dans le Hall 5. Asu ou Demain, le thème et le film s'appellent "Le Japon et les Japonais" qui est l'attraction principale. Il est affiché sur un écran géant, 48 mètres de large (157 pieds), la production est devenue possible qu'avec le développement d'un appareil de huit optiques d'un type tout à fait particulière. Parmi les autres caractéristiques de Demain est «le Japon au 21e siècle", quatre organismes de recherche utilisent des animations et des modèles qui envisagent un Japon idéal dans l'avenir.