Japan World Exposition - Osaka 1970 - Expo'70

Human progress and harmony

March 15, 1970 - September 13, 1970


Back - List of Pavilions

France

France at the Exhibition Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

The pavilion of the French Republic was a living exhibition of the originality of the French personality in the contemporary world and of the national determination for further progress.

The pavilion consisted of four domes - three overlapping and one free-standing - the largest of which was 31 metres high. All white, they glowed night and day with 1500 flashing lights.

The pavilion was surrounded by lawns and flowerbeds and at the base of the dome, which was not attached to the others, was a waterfall beautifully lit in the evening hours.

The theme of the French pavilion was centred on technical and economic independence in international cooperation; on mastering the future of scientific research and attention to the problems of youth and on the protection and development of French individuality, and on cultural activity and a unique concept of life.

During the visiting hours, these themes gave you a reflection of the French way of life and the French contribution to human progress. Paris was represented in an important section, called "La vie du Français", where you could discover what made Paris the "City of Light" with all its charm and grandeur.

A Franco-Japanese museum reminded you of the relationship between the two countries since the 17th century. But art and culture were integrated throughout the pavilion and an exceptional library served the intellectual needs of the most demanding.

A 200-seat auditorium, fully equipped for live interpretation, was available for lectures and other activities. And a French restaurant and a "Grand Café" gave you the opportunity to taste the famous French culinary art.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

France


France à l'exposition de Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

Le pavillon de la République Française était une exposition vivante de l'originalité de la personnalité française dans le monde contemporain et de la détermination nationale pour la suite les progrès futurs.

Le pavillon était composé de quatre dômes – trois se chevauchaient et un était seul a coté – le plus grand était haut de 31 mètres. Tous blancs, ils brillaient nuit et jour grâce 1500 feux clignotants.

Le pavillon était entouré par les pelouses et les parterres de fleurs et à la base du dôme, qui n’était pas accolé aux autres, se trouvait une chute d'eau joliment éclairés pendant les heures du soir.

Le thème du pavillon Français était centrée sur l’indépendance technique et économique dans la coopération internationale ; sur la maîtrise de l'avenir de la recherche scientifique et sur l’attention aux problèmes de la jeunesse et sur la protection et le développement de l'individualité française, et sur une activité culturelle et un concept unique de la vie.

Durant les heures de visite, ces thèmes vous donnaient une réflexion de la façon de vivre Française et la contribution Française dans le progrès humain. Paris était représenté dans une section importante, appelée « La vie du Français », ou vous pouviez découvrir ce qui faisait de Paris la « Ville Lumière » avec tout son charme et sa grandeur.

Un musée Franco-japonais vous rappelait les relations entre les deux pays depuis le 17ième siècle. Mais l’art et la culture étaient intégrés à travers le pavillon et une bibliothèque exceptionnelle répondait aux besoins intellectuels des plus exigeants.

Un auditorium de 200 places, complètement équipé pour l'interprétation en directe, était disponible pour les conférences et autres activités. Et un restaurant Français et un « Grand Café » vous donnait l’opportunité de gouter au célèbre art culinaire Français.