Back - List of Pavilions

China -

China at the Exhibition Expo Osaka 1970
© Expo'70
Architect(s) : Y.H. Peng et C.Y Lee

The theme of the Chinese pavilion was "China, Heritage and Progress". Architecturally, the pavilion expressed the complexity of traditional philosophy with simplicity. Two identical and opposite triangular towers were joined by a canopy of lights, echoing the majesty of a palace gate in the Han Dynasty.
This gateway symbolised the cultural exchange between China and other nations throughout their long history. The exhibits were created by cantilevers in the space between the two towers and linked together by glass bridges that offered visitors an alternative experience of opening and closing. At the back of the bridge was a cafeteria, a gourmet restaurant, and a plaza with a swimming pool surrounded by ancient pine trees.
Of the ten separate exhibition areas, the first four presented unique gifts from China to humanity, ranging from scientific or technological categories such as paper, printing, porcelain, and silk, to language and art, such as calligraphy and painting; the fifth exhibition presented the history of the transition from the past dynasty to the modern republic; The next four exhibits described advances in education, transportation, communication, industry, commerce, science and agriculture in today's Taiwan; and the final exhibit featured a stunning slide show of the island's wonders. Throughout, modern audio-visual communication techniques, such as films, slides, graphics, and photo walls were used.

The pavilion, despite Chinese heritage and progress, was intended to express the Confucian ideal of "Tien Hsia Wei Kung" or "One world for all mankind".

The pavilion of the Republic of China, which conveniently dominated the Expo's Festival Square and the Sun Tower.

Architectural design: Y.H. Peng and C.Y Lee. Exhibitions and graphic design Wang R.C Weng, Peter Yung and Robert Yung. Coordinator I.M Pei.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Chine


Chine à l'exposition de Osaka 1970

© Expo'70
Architecte(s) : Y.H. Peng et C.Y Lee

Le thème du pavillon chinois était « La Chine, héritage et progrès ». Architecturalement, le pavillon exprimait la complexité de la philosophie traditionnelle avec simplicité. Deux tours triangulaires identiques et opposée étaient unies par un auvent de lumières, écho de la majesté d’une porte de palais dans la dynastie Han.
Cette passerelle symbolisait les échanges culturels entre la Chine et les autres nations à travers leur longue histoire. Les pièces d’exposition étaient créée par cantilevers dans l’espace entre les deux tours et liés entre eux par des ponts en verre qui offraient aux visiteurs une expérience alternative l’ouverture et de clôture. A l’arrière de la passerelle se trouvait une cafétéria, un restaurant gastronomique, et une place avec une piscine entourée avec des pins anciens.
Des dix zones d’exposition distinctes, les quatre premières présentaient des cadeaux uniques de la Chine à l’humanité, rangé par catégorie scientifique ou technologique comme le papier, l’impression, la porcelaine, et la soie, au langage et l’art, comme la calligraphie et la peinture, les cinquième exposition présentait l’histoire de la transition de la dynastie passée à la république moderne ; les quatre expositions suivantes décrivaient les progrès dans l’éducation, les transports, la communication, l’industrie, le commerce, la science et l’agriculture, dans la Taiwan d’aujourd’hui ; et la dernière exposition projetait un superbe diaporama sur les merveilles de l’île. Partout, des techniques modernes de communication audio-visuelle, tel que les films, diapositives, graphiques, et murs de photos étaient utilisés.

Le pavillon, en dépit de l’héritage et progrès chinois, avait pour but d’exprimer l’idéal Confucéen de « tien-hsia weikung » ou « Un monde pour toute l’humanité ».

Le pavillon de la république de Chine, qui dominait commodément Place des Festivals de l'Expo et la tour du soleil.

Design architectural : Y.H. Peng et C.Y Lee. Expositions et design graphique Wang R.C Weng, Peter Yung et Robert Yung. Coordinateur I.M Pei.