Back - List of Pavilions

Canada - Expo Osaka 1970

Canada at the Exhibition Expo Osaka 1970
© Expo'70

Discovery was the theme of the Canadian pavilion, an invitation to discover Canada but also an essential fact, that since its discovery Canadians have explored the vast expanses of their land and today carry that adventurous quality into industry, science and art.

Clad in mirror-like outer walls, the pavilion's exterior reflected the sky. But the illusion suggested the polar square, the mass of the mountains, the sky of the vast prairies or the sheen of the water, all aspects of the Canadian landscape.

In the courtyard the mood changed. A young country. "Large rainbow umbrellas swirled above the young Canadian singers, dancers and musicians who performed each day.

The exhibits below began with a series of theatres. Computer-controlled audio-visual displays presented the scope, size, and potential of the Canadian country, from Canada as a peaceful nation to its achievement as an urbanized country. On one wall, thousands of tiny light-emitting cells formed a cartoon of people adapting to their environment.

Finally, the exhibits traced, through products and objects, the origins and development of Canadians, from migrants from Asia, France or England, to recent arrivals from every corner of the world. In the face of the evidence of a sophisticated economy, the highlight of the presentation was the largest wall ever carved by the Eskimos.

As befitted the holder of Expo'67, Canada was the first nation to agree to participate in Osaka and the first to complete each phase of the planning. Canada was represented by the provinces of Quebec, British Columbia and Ontario, which had their own pavilions.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Canada


Canada à l'exposition de Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

Découvrir était le thème du pavillon Canadien, une invitation à découvrir le Canada mais aussi un fait essentiel, que depuis sa découverte les Canadiens ont exploré les vastes étendues de leurs terres et, aujourd'hui, portent cette qualité de l'aventure à l'industrie, la science et l'art.

Habillé de mur extérieurs comme des miroirs, l’extérieur du pavillon reflétait le ciel. Mais l’illusion suggérait la place polaire, la masse des montagnes, le ciel des vastes prairies ou le éclat de l’eau, tous les aspects du paysage Canadien.

Dans la cour intérieure l’humeur changeait. Un pays jeune. « Le jeune pavillon » De grands parasols en forme d’arcs-en-ciel tournaient au-dessus des jeunes chanteurs, danseurs et musiciens canadiens, qui faisaient leur spectacle chaque jour.

Les expositions, en dessous, commençaient avec une série de théâtres. Des affichages audiovisuels gérés par ordinateur vous présentaient d’étendue, la grandeur, et le potentiel du pays Canadien, du Canada comme une nation pacifique jusqu’à l’accomplissement comme pays urbanisé. Sur un des murs, des milliers de minuscules cellules électroluminescentes qui formaient un dessin animé de personnes d'adaptant leur environnement.

Pour conclure les expositions traçaient, par produits et objets, les origines et le développement des canadiens, des migrants originaires d’Asie, de France ou d’Angleterre, aux arrivées récentes de chaque coin du monde. Face à l'évidence d’une économie sophistiquée, le point culminant de la présentation était le plus grand mur jamais sculpté par les Eskimos.

Comme il seyait au titulaire de l'Expo'67, le Canada était la première nation à être d’accord pour participer à celle d’Osaka et la première à finir chaque phase du planning. Le Canada était représenté par les Provinces du Québec, Colombie Britannique, Ontario qui avaient leurs propres pavillons.