Japan World Exposition - Osaka 1970 - Expo'70

Human progress and harmony

March 15, 1970 - September 13, 1970


Back - List of Pavilions

Abu-Dhabi

Abu-Dhabi at the Exhibition Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

Parsing the tip of the Arabian Peninsula, Abu Dhabi is an emirate seeking the path of modernity through the blessing of a thriving oil industry.

But the country is also rich in history, its Arab traditions, and the Abu Dhabi pavilion adopted the simple basic design based on the imposing fortresses that stood along the coast in ancient times. These fortresses served as places of residence, collection and worship for the sheikhs, or tribal leaders. Although simply built, some have withstood the ravages of man and nature to survive today, silent but eloquent witnesses to the tenacity of the Arabs.

The pavilion consisted of two minarets, one round and one square, an exhibition hall and a cinema. The land and the people were represented with films and displays around the main minaret. The theme: "Abu Dhabi - its Past, Present and Future

The exhibits offered an insight into the tremendous work and widespread improvements that have taken place since the accession of His Highness, Sheikh Zayed Bin Sultan Alnehiyan, and how oil revenues were used for the welfare of the people.

In addition, you were presented with an artist's impression of Abu Dhabi's past and the part of the sea and pearl fishing played in the picturesque life of the people.

A special feature of the exhibition was a replica of the colourful and romantic scene from the famous tales of the "Arabian Nights". Visitors to the Pavilion were entertained in a way that would have impressed the Arabs of centuries ago.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Abu-Dhabi


Abu-Dhabi à l'exposition de Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

Parsèment la pointe de la péninsule arabique, Abu Dhabi est un émirat cherchant la voie de la modernité grâce à la bénédiction d'une industrie pétrolière prospère.

Mais le pays est également riche de son histoire, ses traditions arabes, et le pavillon d'Abu Dhabi adoptait la conception de base simple fondée sur les imposantes forteresses qui se situaient le long de la côte dans les temps anciens. Ces forteresses servirent de lieu de résidence, de collecte et de culte pour les cheikhs, ou chefs de tribus. Bien que construit simplement, certaines ont résisté aux ravages de l'homme et la nature pour survivre aujourd'hui, témoins silencieux mais éloquent à la ténacité des Arabes.

Le pavillon était composé de deux minarets, un rond et l'autre carré,d'une salle d'exposition et d'une salle de cinéma. La terre et le peuple étaient représenté avec des films et d'affichage autour du minaret principal. Le thème: "Abu Dhabi - son Passé, Présent et Futur"

Les expositions offraient une idée de l'énorme travail et des améliorations répandues qui ont eu lieu depuis l'accession de Son Altesse, Cheikh Zayed Bin Sultan Alnehiyan, et de la manière dont les revenus pétroliers étaient utilisés pour le bien-être du peuple.

En outre, vous étaient présentées avec l'impression d'un artiste du passé d'Abu Dhabi et de la partie de la mer et la pêche des perles joué dans la vie pittoresque du peuple.

Une caractéristique particulière de l'exposition était une réplique de la scène colorée et romantique des célèbres contes des "Mille et une Nuits". Les visiteurs du Pavillon se trouvaient divertir d'une manière qui aurait impressionné les Arabes d'il y a plusieurs siècles.