Japan World Exposition - Osaka 1970 - Expo'70

Human progress and harmony

March 15, 1970 - September 13, 1970


Back - List of Pavilions

Vatican

Vatican at the Exhibition Expo Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

Vatican City's participation in the Japan International Exposition took the form of co-sponsoring and actively supporting the Christian pavilion, built by the joint effort of Catholics and Protestant Christians in Japan.
Japanese Christians felt challenged by the World Expo to give a common witness to the saving message of Christ, and to this end they pooled their resources to build the Christian pavilion. Its main theme was "eyes and hands", i.e. the discovery of man with the eyes of faith and love, and service to humanity, following the teaching and example of Christ.

The Vatican has helped to illustrate this theme by sending a facsimile of a precious biblical manuscript from the fourth century, the Vatican Greek manuscript 1209, kept in the Vatican Library. It shows the sacred sources of the Christian faith, which unites Christians of all places and times.

The theme of the pavilion was further illustrated by three tapestries with biblical motifs, which are on loan from the Vatican. Around 1515, Raphael designed the drawings for the tapestries, which were woven in Brussels.

The scenes depicted on the tapestries are as follows:
1. The miraculous catch of fish, told in Luke 5, 1-10;
2. The appearance of the risen Christ at Lake Tiberias, with Christ examining Peter's love, giving him the keys, and trusting with his lambs, according to John 21, 11-17;
3. Paul's preaching in Athens, announcing to the Athenians the "unknown" God and the resurrection of Christ, according to Acts 17:17-34.

This participation of Vatican City in the Christian pavilion was an important contribution to the ecumenical movement. It also symbolised the spiritual links between Christianity in Japan and the Western Christian world and its ancient traditions.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Vatican


Vatican à l'exposition de Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

Participation de la Cité du Vatican à l'Exposition internationale du Japon prenait la forme de co-parrainer et soutenait activement le pavillon chrétien, construit par l'effort conjoint des catholiques et des chrétiens protestants du Japon.
Chrétiens japonais se sentaient interpellés par l'Exposition universelle pour donner un témoignage commun au message salvifique du Christ, et pour ce faire, ils avaient mis en commun leurs ressources pour construire le pavillon chrétien. Son thème principal était «les yeux et les mains", c'est à dire la découverte de l'homme avec les yeux de la foi et de l'amour, et le service pour l'humanité, suite à l'enseignement et l'exemple du Christ.

Le Vatican a contribué à illustrer ce thème par l'envoi d'un fac-similé d'un manuscrit biblique précieux du quatrième siècle, le manuscrit grec du Vatican 1209, conservé dans la bibliothèque du Vatican. Elle montre les sources sacrées de la foi chrétienne, qui unit les chrétiens de tous les lieux et tout temps.

Le thème du pavillon étaient en outre illustré par trois tapisseries à motifs bibliques, qui ont été prêtés par le Vatican. Vers 1515, Raphaël conçu les dessins pour les tapisseries, qui ont été tissées à Bruxelles.

La scène représentée sur les tapisseries sont les suivants:
1. La pêche miraculeuse, racontée dans Luc 5, 1-10;
2. L'appararition du Christ ressuscité au lac de Tibériade, avec le Christ examinant l'amour de Pierre, en lui donnant les clefs, et confiant avec ses agneaux, conformément à Jean 21, 11-17;
3. La prédication de Paul à Athènes, en annonçant aux Athéniens le Dieu «inconnu» et la résurrection du Christ, selon les lois 17, 17-34.

Cette participation de la Cité du Vatican dans le pavillon du chrétien était une contribution importante au mouvement œcuménique. Il symbolisait aussi les liens spirituels unissant le christianisme au Japon avec le monde chrétien occidental et ses anciennes traditions.