Back - List of Pavilions

Uruguay - Expo Osaka 1970

Uruguay at the Exhibition Expo Osaka 1970
© Expo'70

Uruguay is located in South America in the temperate zone. Its 18,700 square kilometres (72,930 square miles) are bounded by the River Plate and the Atlantic Ocean. The country is made up of a succession of small hills with rounded curves, the climate is mild and temperate.

Uruguay's nearly 300,000 inhabitants are of European origin, mainly of Spanish and Italian descent, and 1400,000 live in the capital Montevideo.

A highly civilised country, the Republic of Uruguay is one of the most advanced countries in the world in political and social systems. All inhabitants enjoy complete freedom and can rely on their talent, work and civic virtues. There are no castes or privileges. The language is Spanish. The state is secular and respects all beliefs. In this country, foreigners and natives are equal before the law: the former find the hospitality exquisite and the country generous.

Public education at all levels, primary, secondary, university or industrial, is entirely free. Illiteracy is practically non-existent and almost all citizens also benefit from free medical assistance.

Agriculture, livestock breeding (more than 30 million heads) and industrial enterprises have shown in recent years an increasing indication of rationalisation, specialisation and integration. The main exports are meat and its derivatives, wool, leather, textiles and marbles, the main imports: raw materials, machinery, fuel and vehicles. Tourism has been growing in recent years and is becoming the main industry. Every year, thousands of tourists enjoy the sunny beaches of the Atlantic. Among its most popular summer resorts, Punta del Este is known all over the world.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Uruguay


Uruguay à l'exposition de Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

L'Uruguay est situé en Amérique du Sud dans la zone tempérée. Ses 18.700 km carrés (72,930 miles carrés) sont limitées par la River Plate et l'océan Atlantique. Le pays est composé d'une succession de petites collines aux courbes arrondies, le climat est doux et tempéré.

Les près de 3000000 habitants de l'Uruguay sont d'origine européenne, principalement des descendants espagnols et italiens , et 1400000 vivent dans la capitale Montevideo.

Un pays de hautement civilisé, la République de l'Uruguay est l'un des pays lesplus avancés au monde en politique et systeèmes sociaux. Tous les habitants jouissent d'une liberté complète et peuvent compter sur leur talent, leur travail et et leurs vertues civiques. Il n'y a pas de castes et ni de privilèges. La langue est l'espagnol. L'État est laïque et respecte toutes les croyances. Dans ce pays, les étrangers et les autochtones sont égaux devant la loi: les premiers trouvent l'hospitalité exquise ainsi que le pays généreux.

L'éducation publique à tous les niveaux, primaire, secondaire, universitaire ou industrielle, est entièrement gratuit. L'analphabétisme est pratiquement inexistant et presque tous les citoyens bénéficient également d'une assistance médicale gratuite.

L'agriculture, élevage de bétail (plus de 30 millions de têtes) et les entreprises industrielles ont montré ces dernières années un indice croissant de la rationalisation, la spécialisation et l'intégration. Les principales exportations sont la viande et ses dérivés, de la laine, le cuir, les textiles et les marbres, les principales importations: matières premières, machines, de carburant et des véhicules. Le tourisme a cessé de se développer ces dernières années et est en passe de devenir la principale industrie. Chaque année, des milliers de touristes profitent des plages ensoleillée de l'Atlantique. Parmi ses centres de villégiature estivals les plus populaires, Punta del Este est connu dans le monde entier.