Japan World Exposition - Osaka 1970 - Expo'70

Human progress and harmony

March 15, 1970 - September 13, 1970


Back - List of Pavilions

United Kingdom

United Kingdom at the Exhibition Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

The British Pavilion was just off the West Port. With its exhibition galleries suspended from giant 37 metre high steel masts, it was like a huge canopy floating above the crowd where visitors could relax in a water garden or get special items from Britain at the pavilion shop.

The theme of the pavilion was "Progress, Promise and Variety" and the exhibits were arranged in four separate galleries, each with completely different settings, to present the history of the British people, their heritage and their achievements.

The story opened with 'British Heritage', a playful introduction to the whole pavilion. Here, visitors were enveloped by theatrical presentations demonstrating Britain's outstanding contribution to global progress in learning and culture, exploration, science, industrial technology and democratic government.

Next "Progress for Humanity", presenting the image of a nation aspiring to a better quality of life through cutting-edge research and development in fields such as medicine, agriculture, nuclear energy and oceanography.

Then "Building for the Future" presented an ultra-modern industrial environment and demonstrated new production techniques, new materials and manufacturing processes and explored the problems of the polluted environment.

The final chapter of the story, the "British Scene", presented a modern picture of Britain, its coasts and landscapes, its towns and villages and its people. It showed a nation strong in family ties enjoying a good standard of living and quality social service, educating its children to high standards and offering new generations opportunities for individual advancement and cultural enrichment.
This is Britain, backed by centuries of industrial achievement, aspiring to a better life for all.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Royaume Uni


Royaume Uni à l'exposition de Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

Le pavillon Britannique était juste à côté de la Port Ouest. Avec ses galeries d’exposition suspendues à des mâts en acier géants de 37 mètres de haut, c'était comme une voûte énorme flottant au-dessus de la foule où les visiteurs pouvaient se détendre dans un jardin d'eau ou d'obtenir des objets spéciaux de Grande-Bretagne à la boutique du pavillon.

Le thème du pavillon était « Progrès, Promesse et Variété » et les expositions avaient été arrangée dans quatre galeries séparées, chacune avec des paramètres complètement différents, pour présenter l’histoire de peuple Britannique, leur héritage et leur réussites.

L’histoire s’ouvrait avec « L’héritage Britannique », une initiation ludique dans l’ensemble du pavillon. Ici, les visiteurs étaient enveloppés par des présentations théâtrales démontrant la contribution exceptionnelle de la Grande-Bretagne au progrès mondial dans l'apprentissage et la culture, l'exploration, la science, la technologie industrielle et de gouvernement démocratiques.

Suivant "Progrès pour l'humanité", présentant l’image d'une nation aspirant à une meilleure qualité de vie par la recherche-développement de pointe dans des domaines comme la médecine, l'agriculture, l'énergie nucléaire et de l'océanographie.

Puis «Bâtir pour l'avenir» présentait milieu industriel ultra-moderne et démontrait les nouvelles techniques de production, les nouveaux matériaux et procédés de fabrication et explore les problèmes de l'environnement pollué.

Le dernier chapitre de l'histoire, la "Scène Britannique", présentait une image moderne de la Grande-Bretagne, ses côtes et ses paysages, ses villes et villages et ses habitants. Elle montrait une nation forte dans les liens familiaux bénéficiant d'un bon niveau de vie et de service social de qualité, éduquer ses enfants à des normes élevées et offrir aux nouvelles générations opportunités d’une promotion individuelle et l'enrichissement culturel.
Ceci est la Grande-Bretagne, soutenus par des siècles de réalisation industrielle, l'aspiration à une vie meilleure pour tous.