Back - List of Pavilions

Turkey -

Turkey at the Exhibition Expo Osaka 1970
© Expo'70

Since ancient times, the lands of Turkey have been a cradle of civilisations that have influenced Europe and Asia. Historical remains found in this country and, in particular, in the Alacahöyük area have proven the various civilisations of Anatolia (now Turkey) to have a history beginning as early as 7000 BC.

Turkey has also played throughout the ages a role as a material and moral bridge between the East and the West. Silk from China and spices from India passed through Anatolia to reach Europe and the exchange of culture between the two continents was made through these lands.

At that time, for the first time in history, Turkey was in contact with the East and the West physically with a bridge over the Bosphorus. A photo of this bridge, as a symbol of this connection, was displayed in the pavilion.

Today, the Republic of Turkey, founded by Kemal Atatürk on these historic lands, strives to make its contribution to the civilisations of Asia, Europe and the Middle East.

Turkey's exhibits were housed in a joint pavilion with its partners in Regional Development Cooperation, Iran and Pakistan, and known as the RCD Pavilion.

The Turkish pavilion displays included photographs of fresco paintings from the Neolithic period (7000-5000 BC) and an enlarged reproduction of the "Peace Treaty of Kadesh" signed in the 13th century BC between the Hittite kingdom and Ramses II of Egypt, the first known international treaty in the world.

The Turkish pavilion also had, as an added attraction, a café where world-renowned Turkish coffee was served. The Turkish and RCD pavilions were located immediately east of the Plaza Saturday, in the northwestern sector of the expo.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Turquie


Turquie à l'exposition de Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

Depuis les temps anciens, les terres de la Turquie ont été un berceau de civilisations qui ont influencé l'Europe et l'Asie. Les restes historiques trouvés dans ce pays et, en particulier dans le zone de l’Alacahöyük ont prouvé les diverses civilisations de l'Anatolie (aujourd'hui Turquie) pour avoir une histoire commençant dès 7000 avant J.-C.

La Turquie a également joué dans les âges un rôle de pont matériel et moral entre l'Orient et l'Occident. La soie de la Chine et les épices de l'Inde ont transité par l'Anatolie pour rejoindre l'Europe et l'échange de culture entre les deux continents a été faite à travers ces terres.

A l’époque, pour la première fois dans l'histoire, la Turquie fut en contact Est et l'Ouest physiquement avec pont enjambant le Bosphore. Une photo de ce pont, comme un symbole de ce lien, était exposée au pavillon.

Aujourd'hui, la République de Turquie fondée par Kemal Atatürk sur ces terres historiques, s'efforce d'apporter sa contribution aux civilisations d’Asie, d’Europe et du Moyen-Orient.

Les expositions de la Turquie étaient logées dans un pavillon commun avec ses partenaires dans la Coopération Régionale pour le Développement, l'Iran et le Pakistan, et connu sous le Pavillon du RCD.

Les affichage du pavillon Turque présentaient, entre autres, des photographies de peintures à fresque datant de l'époque néolithique (7000-5000 avant JC) et une reproduction élargie du « traité de Paix de Kadesh » signé au 13ème siècle avant JC entre le royaume hittite et Ramsès II d'Egypte, le premier traité international connu dans le monde .

Le pavillon turc avait aussi, comme attraction supplémentaire, d'un café où du café turc de renommée mondiale était servie. La Turquie et le pavillon du RCD étaient situés immédiatement à l'est de la Plaza saturday, dans le secteur nord-ouest de l’expo.