Back - List of Pavilions

Singapore - Expo Osaka 1970

Singapore at the Exhibition Expo Osaka 1970
© Expo'70

Among the many interesting pavilions at Expo'70, the Singapore Pavilion stood out for its unique design and the natural beauty of its tropical garden, a 3,000-square-metre paradise of shrubs and plants, including phoenix palms, bougainvilleas, orchids and other tropical flora.

The main purpose of the Singapore Pavilion was to project a visual summary of life in a multi-racial society, amidst the lush greenery of a small island republic. The pavilion, 91 metres or 100 metres from the Expo's western gate, was itself a gateway to a new Singapore, in miniature.

The garden beauty could be seen from a panoramic viewing platform over some distance. Cascading 4.6 metres (15 feet) from this elevated promontory in a gently undulating pattern, a miniature waterfall became a stream that flowed into a large pond full of tropical fish and green aquatic plants.

Winding paths through a small menagerie of turtles, alligators in pits, and brightly coloured tropical birds in aviaries enlivened the gardens.

Rising above were two huts built in the indigenous Malayan manner, with crescent-shaped roofs, and wooden walls.

One was an aquarium with exotic fish, the other was a thatched hut with open walls where you could see colourful films about Singapore.

The interior of the pavilion reflected a way of life. A lighted mural, and amidst paintings of fresh orchids were shown, projects of various multiracial scenes of Singapore: laughter, tears and the sweat of the people.

Then the effervescent charm of 'Asian Moment' was reflected in a huge mural by the famous Batik painter and the smiling Singaporean receptionists enchanted the pavilion.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Singapour


Singapour à l'exposition de Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

Parmi les nombreux pavillons intéressants à Expo'70, le Pavillon de Singapour se distinguait par sa conception unique et la beauté naturelle de son jardin tropical, un paradis de 3000 mètres carrés d'arbustes et de plantes, y compris les palmiers phoenix, bougainvillées, des orchidées et d'autres de la flore tropicale.

Le but principal du Pavillon de Singapour était de projeter un résumé visuel de la vie dans une société multiraciale, au milieu de la verdure luxuriante d'une petite république insulaire. Le pavillon, à 91 mètres ou 100 mètres de la porte ouest de l'Expo, était lui-même une passerelle, une passerelle vers un nouveau Singapour, en miniature.

La beauté de jardin pouvait être vu à partir d'une plateforme d'observation panoramique sur une certaine distance. Cascade de 4,6 mètres (15 pieds) à partir de ce promontoire élevé à motifs légèrement ondulée, une cascade miniature devenait un ruisseau qui se déversait dans un grand étang plein de poissons tropicaux et de plantes vertes aquatiques.

Sentiers sinueux au milieu d'une petite ménagerie de tortues, alligators dans des fosses, et d'oiseaux tropicaux brillamment colorés dans des volières animaient les jardins.

S'élevant au-dessus de deux cabanes construites à la manière indigène d'origine Malaise, avec des toits en forme de croissant, et les murs en bois.

L'une était un aquarium avec des poissons exotiques, l'autre était une cabane avec un toit de chaume et murs ouverts où vous pouviez voir des films de couleur sur Singapour.

L'intérieur du pavillon reflétait un mode de vie. Une fresque murale éclairée, et au milieu des tableaux de fraiches d'orchidées étaient diffusés, des projets de différentes scènes multiraciales de Singapour: du rire, les larmes et la sueur du peuple.

Puis le charme effervescent de ‘instant d’Asie’ se retrouvait dans une immense peinture murale par le célèbre peintre Batik et le sourire des réceptionnistes de Singapour enchantaient du pavillon.