Japan World Exposition - Osaka 1970 - Expo'70

Human progress and harmony

March 15, 1970 - September 13, 1970


Back - List of Pavilions

Saudi Arabia

Saudi Arabia at the Exhibition Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

Saudi Arabia was modernising rapidly, yet the process of its modernisation was in harmony with the traditions and teachings of the great religion of Islam.

The visitor to the Saudi Arabia Pavilion had to bear in mind that Islam is not only a religion, a relationship between man and God, but also a way of life, governing and regulating all aspects of human life.

The concept of "progress in harmony" was first presented in the architectural design of the Saudi Arabian pavilion. The Islamic design was an arabesque of traditional style in an ultra-modern context.

As with the indoor exhibition area, the one-storey pavilion was divided into two sections, the general exhibition hall and the religious hall.

The General Exhibition Hall reflected the spirit of progress in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, a progress that had taken place in a short period of time under the enlightened leadership of His Majesty, King Faisal.

The surroundings of the symbol area, in the general exhibition hall, showed the progress made in the fields of social and physical infrastructure.

The symbol area was entitled "Towards a better use of natural resources". In this section, the Kingdom's great efforts to make full use of its natural resources, the oil industry, petrochemical industry, mining and agricultural industries, were presented in a very attractive and colourful way.

The corridor leading to the religion room and the religion room familiarised the non-Muslim visitor with the religion of Islam. The universality of Islam, the religion of more than 600 million people worldwide, was presented through the display of one of the main pillars of Islam, the pilgrimage to Mecca.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Arabie Saoudite


Arabie Saoudite à l'exposition de Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

L'Arabie saoudite se modernisait rapidement, et pourtant le processus de sa modernisation était en harmonie avec les traditions et les enseignements de la grande religion de l'Islam.

Le visiteur au Pavillon de l'Arabie saoudite devait garder à l'esprit que l'islam n'est pas seulement une religion, une relation entre l'homme et Dieu, mais aussi un mode de vie, régissant et réglementant tous les aspects de la vie humaine.

Le concept de « progrès en harmonie » était d'abord présenté dans la conception architecturale du pavillon de l'Arabie saoudite. La conception islamique était une arabesque de style traditionnel dans un contexte ultramoderne.

Comme pour l'aire d'exposition Intérieur, celle du pavillon d’un étage était divisée en deux sections, la salle d'exposition générale et la salle religieuse.

La salle d'exposition générale reflétait l'esprit de progrès dans le royaume d'Arabie saoudite, un progrès qui avait eu lieu dans un court laps de temps sous la direction éclairée de Sa Majesté, le Roi Fayçal.

Les alentours de la zone de symbole, dans la salle d'exposition générale, montrait les progrès accomplis dans les domaines des infrastructures sociales et physiques.

La zone symbole était intitulé «Vers une meilleure utilisation des ressources naturelles». Dans cette section, les grands efforts du Royaume pour utiliser pleinement ses ressources naturelles, l'industrie pétrolière, industrie de la pétrochimie, les industries minières et agricoles, étaient présentées d'une manière très attrayante et colorée.

Le couloir menant à la salle de religion et la salle de religion permettait de familiariser le visiteur non-musulmans à la religion de l'Islam. L'universalité de l'Islam, religion de plus de 600 millions de personnes partout dans le monde, était présentée à travers l'écran de l'un des principaux piliers de l'Islam, le pèlerinage à La Mecque.