Back - List of Pavilions

Quebec - Expo Osaka 1970

Quebec at the Exhibition Expo Osaka 1970
© Expo'70

In the spirit of the theme "Progress and Harmony for Humanity", the Quebec pavilion presents in a dynamic way the evolution, culture and aspirations of the people of Quebec.

The visitor will become aware of the immensity of the Quebec territory and its unique position on the world map. Because Quebec's climate has a marked influence on its people, the four seasons of Quebec have been recreated for the visitor to give him or her a better understanding of the nature of the people who inhabit this great country.

Quebec is one of the richest territories in the world, and the visitor will be well acquainted with Quebec's vast forests, paper industry, seemingly inexhaustible mineral resources and its hydroelectric power plants.

Taking the stairs to the upper floor, the visitor is immersed in the Quebec Winter Carnival, a snow carnival that is unique in America and which vividly demonstrates the joie de vivre and exuberance of the people of Quebec.

An audio-visual montage illustrates the social life as well as the typical personal life of Quebecers.

In another section of the Quebec Pavilion, the daring pioneers living in the far north of Quebec are represented by puppets in the middle of an Eskimo village.

Walking towards the exit, one can admire tapestries produced by the most remarkable artists of the Province of Quebec, typical Quebec jewellery, paintings or sculptures.

Quebec City, which hosted the world during Expo'67 in Montreal, occupies 1,540,000 square kilometres (59,600 square miles) in the northeast corner of the North American continent. It is more than four times the size of Japan and represents 15% of Canada's land mass, making it the largest province. It has a population of about 6 million.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Québec


Québec à l'exposition de Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

Dans l'esprit du thème "Progrès et Harmonie pour l'Humanité", le pavillon du Québec présente de manière dynamique l'évolution, la culture et les aspirations de la population du Québec.

Le visiteur prendra conscience de l'immensité du territoire québécois et sa position unique sur la carte du monde. Parce que le climat du Québec a une inflence marqué sur son peuple, les quatre saisons du Québec ont été recréés pour le visiteur pour lui donner une meilleure compréhension de la nature de l'homme qui habite ce grand pays.

Le Québec est l'un des territoires les plus riches dans le monde, et le visiteur sera bien familiarisé avec d'immenses forêts du Québec, l'industrie du papier, les ressources minérales apparemment inépuisable et ses centrales hydroélectriques.

En prenant les escaliers vers l'étage supérieur, le visiteur plonge dans le Carnaval de Québec, un carnaval de la neige qui est unique en Amérique et qui démontre de façon frappante la joie de vivre et l'exubérance de la population du Québec.

Un montage audio-visuel illustre la vie sociale ainsi que la vie personnelle typique des Québécois.

Dans une autre section du Pavillon du Québec, les pionniers audacieux qui vivent dans le grand nord du Québec sont représentés par des marionnettes au milieu d'un village esquimau.

En marchant vers la sortie, on peut admirer des tapisseries produites par les artistes les plus remarquables de la Province de Québec, des bijoux typiques du Québec, des peintures ou des sculptures.

Québec, qui accueillit le monde au cours Expo'67 à Montréal, occupe 1.540.000 kilomètres carrés (594600 miles carrés) à l'angle nord-est du continent nord-américain. Sa superficie, plus de quatre fois celle du Japon, et représente 15% du territoire canadien, ce qui en fait la plus grande province. Il y a environ 6 millions d'habitants.