Japan World Exposition - Osaka 1970 - Expo'70

Human progress and harmony

March 15, 1970 - September 13, 1970


Back - List of Pavilions

Peru

Peru at the Exhibition Expo Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

Peru is the third largest country in South America, after Brazil and Argentina.

The country is divided into three regions. The narrow coastal strip is a desert because of the trade winds. The mountainous region, the plateau between the eastern and western ranges of the Andes, is commonly referred to as the "roof of South America". The jungle to the east is in the headwaters of the Amazon and is accessible only by river and air.

Since 1960, Peru has averaged 6.9% annual economic growth, the highest of any South American nation. Its manufacturing, mining and fishing industries were booming.

About 46% of its inhabitants are Indians, 43% mestizo, and 11% white.

The northern desert regions are periodically affected by torrential rains. And the entire coast is prone to earthquakes.

The climate varies greatly with altitude. In the subtropical lowlands, the climate above 3,000 feet is temperate, and above 10,000 feet it is quite cold.

The Inca Empire controlled Peru and all the territories from Ecuador to Bolivia, parts of Chile, Colombia and Argentina for centuries before the arrival of the Spanish conquistadors. A colony of Spain for 300 years, Peru finally gained independence in 1824.

Peru, the world's third largest producer of silver, is also a major producer of copper, zinc, lead and iron. When it comes to fishing, Peru has no equal. The annual amount of fish caught in the 1970s in the Pacific, the Amazon and Lake Titicaca totalled 11 million tonnes. Among the varieties of fish that abound in the water are anchovies (for making fishmeal), bonito, tuna and mullet.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Pérou


Pérou à l'exposition de Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

Le Pérou est le troisième plus grand pays en Amérique du Sud, après le Brésil et l'Argentine.

Le pays est divisé en trois régions. L'étroite bande côtière est un désert à cause des alizés. La région montagneuse, le plateau entre les chaînes orientales et occidentales de la Cordillère des Andes, est communément appelé le "toit de l'Amérique du Sud". La jungle à l'est est dans le cours supérieur de l'Amazone et est accessible uniquement par les rivières et l'avion.

Depuis 1960, le Pérou avait en moyenne 6,9% de croissance économique annuelle, la plus élevée de toutes les nations d'Amérique du Sud. Sa fabrication, les industries minières et la pêche étaient en pleine expansion.

Environ 46% de ses habitants sont des Indiens, 43% métis, et 11% blanc.

Les régions désertiques du Nord sont touchées périodiquement par des pluies torrentielles. Et toute la côte est sujette aux tremblements de terre.

Le climat varie beaucoup avec l'altitude. Dans les basses terres subtropicales, le climat, au-dessus de 3000 pieds, est tempéré, et au-dessus de 10000 pieds, il est assez froid.

L'empire inca contrôllait le Pérou et tous les territoires de l'Equateur à la Bolivie, une partie du Chili, la Colombie et l'Argentine pendant des siècles avant l'arrivée des conquistadores espagnols. Une colonie de l'Espagne pendant 300 ans, le Pérou a finalement pris son Indépendance en 1824.

Pérou, le troisième producteur mondial d'argent, est aussi un grand producteur de cuivre, de zinc, de plomb et de fer. En sortie de la pêche, le Pérou n'a pas d'égal. La quantité annuelle de poissons péchés dans les années 1970 dans le Pacifique, l'Amazonie et le lac Titicaca était de 11 millions de tonnes au total. Parmi les variétés de poissons qui abondent dans l'eau sont l'anchois (pour la fabrication de farine de poisson), la bonite, le thon et le mulet.