Back - List of Pavilions

Netherlands - Expo Osaka 1970

Netherlands at the Exhibition Expo Osaka 1970
© Expo'70

The Dutch pavilion represented the three countries, the Netherlands, Surinam and the Netherlands Antilles, which together formed a commonwealth: the Kingdom of the Netherlands.

In the central hall of the pavilion, two large walls were dedicated to Surinam and the Netherlands Antilles. Slide shows depicted the openness of these two Caribbean countries to the rest of the world.

Progress through Openness, in fact, was the theme of the pavilion, in which the Netherlands was seen as an open country, both literally and spiritually. The Dutch people, at the junction of the world's traffic routes, saw contact with others as vital.

The Dutch pavilion, painted in blue, silver and orange, was a series of stacked cubes 30 metres high and supported by four towers. Access was via two sloping walkways under the building and led to an escalator that took you into the central hall; three wings here contained a restaurant, a theatre and a reception area.

The second floor was a service area. In the main structure, equipped with an escalator, there were three "cabins", the top floor offering a panoramic view of the Expo.

Throughout the pavilion, a new 'multi-screen' technique was used, showing several films simultaneously and giving the impression of living in the Netherlands.

In the theatre, documentaries were regularly shown and Dutch music was played daily. "The 'information units' at the back of the building were another important source of specific information, which you could operate yourself. There was also a bookshop, a tourist information centre and a stand where more detailed documentation could be obtained.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Pays-Bas


Pays-Bas à l'exposition de Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

Le pavillon des Pays-bas représentait les trois pays, les Pays-Bas, le Surinam et Les Antilles Néerlandaises, qui ensemble formaient un Commonwealth : le royaume des Pays-Bas.

Dans le hall central du pavillon, deux larges murs étaient consacrés au Surinam et Antilles Néerlandaises. Des projection de diapositives dépeignaient l’ouverture de ces deux pays des Caraïbes avec le reste du monde.

Progrès à travers l’Ouverture, en fait, était le thème du pavillon, dans lequel les Pays-Bas étaient vus comme un pays ouvert, à la fois littéralement et spirituellement. Le peuple néerlandais, à la jonction des voies de circulation mondiales, considérait comme vital le contact avec les autres.

Le pavillon néerlandais, peint de couleur bleue, argent et orange, était une série de cubes empilés les uns sur les autres d’une hauteur de 30 mètres et supporté par quatre tours. L’accès se faisait via à deux allées en pente sous le bâtiment et menaient à un escalier roulant qui vous emmenait dans le hall central ; trois ailes ici contenaient un restaurant, un théâtre et une zone de réception.

Le second étage était une zone de service. Dans la structure principale, équipée d’un escalator, il y avait trois « cabines », l’étage supérieure offrant une vue panoramique de l'Expo.

Partout dans le pavillon, était utilisé une nouvelle technique « multi-écrans » montrant plusieurs films simultanément, et donnait l’impression de vivre aux Pays-Bas.

Dans le théâtre, des documentaires étaient régulièrement diffusés et de la musique néerlandaise était jouée quotidiennement. « Les unités d’information » à l'arrière du bâtiment étaient une autre source importante d'informations spécifiques, que vous pouviez piloter vous-même. Il y avait aussi une librairie, un centre d’informations touristiques et un stand où un documentation plus détaillée pouvait être obtenue.