Japan World Exposition - Osaka 1970 - Expo'70

Human progress and harmony

March 15, 1970 - September 13, 1970


Back - List of Pavilions

Nepal

Nepal at the Exhibition Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

The land where Lord Buddha was born, the kingdom of Nepal has rightly taken the form of a Buddhist temple for its pavilion at the Expo.

Nepal, home to the world's highest mountains, located between India and China, is an agricultural country with rich forests. In its 140,000 square kilometres (56,000 square miles), 10 million people live under a system of local Panchayat governments.

The present ruler, His Majesty, King Mahendra Bir Bikram Shah Deva, has successfully introduced this democratic system which is best suited to the genius and tradition of the Nepalese people.

Nepal opened its doors to the outside world in 1950 after the revolution led by the late King Tribhuwan. Since then, many have visited the country, to see the famous cultural masterpieces, to see breathtaking landscapes and to climb the famous Himalayan peaks.

The Nepal pavilion at International Plaza 3 was domed and its entrance flanked by two pagoda-like temples. Lumbini, the birthplace of the Buddha, and the Himalayan blaze had been incorporated. On the front wall was a splendid panorama of the Himalayas through transparent colour photographs; other photographs showed cultural places and development projects that the government planned to undertake in the near future.

A display of Buddhist images and artefacts, and singing Nepali folk music, were other attractive features of the pavilion, as well as exhibits of "mani" wheels, which believers turn while chanting sutra from Buddhist temples, and indigenous items of interest such as musical instruments, ornaments, ethnic costumes, objects of daily use, medicinal plants, agricultural products, handicrafts. Minerals and manufactured goods were also prominent in the displays.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Népal


Népal à l'exposition de Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

La terre où le Seigneur Bouddha est né, le royaume du Népal a justement repris les formes d'un temple bouddhiste pour son pavillon à l'Expo.

Népal, où se dressent les plus hautes montagnes du monde, situé entre l'Inde et la Chine, est un pays agricole avec de riches forêts. Dans ses 140000 kilomètres carrés (56000 miles carrés), 10 millions de personnes vivent sous un système de gouvernements locaux la Panchayat.

Le souverain actuel, Sa Majesté, le roi Mahendra Bir Bikram Shah Deva, a introduit avec succès ce système démocratique qui est le mieux adapté au génie et à la tradition du peuple népalais.

Le Népal a ouvert ses portes au monde extérieur en 1950 après la révolution menée par le défunt roi Tribhuwan. Depuis lors, beaucoup ont visité le pays, pour voir les fameux chefs-d'œuvre culturels, pour voir despaysages à couper le souffle et pour monter aux fameux sommets de l'Himalaya.

Le pavillon du Népal, situé à la Place internationale 3, était en forme de dôme et son entrée flanquée de deux temples en forme de pagode. Lumbini, lieu de naissance du Bouddha, et la flambée de l'Himalaya avaient été incorporées. Sur la paroi frontale se trouvait un splendide panorama grandiose de l'Himalaya grace à des photographies couleur en transparenc ; d'autres photos montraient des lieux culturels et des projets de développement que le gouvernement envisageait d'entreprendre dans un proche avenir.

Un tableau des images bouddhiques et objets d'art, et chantant la musique populaire népalaise, étaient d'autres caractéristiques attrayantes du pavillon, ainsi que des expositions des roues de "mani" roues,que les croyants tournent en chantant soutra des temples bouddhistes , et les éléments indigènes d'intérêt tels que les instruments de musique, ornements, costumes ethniques, objets d'usage quotidien, les plantes médicinales, les produits agricoles, l'artisanat. Des minéraux et des produits manufacturés étaient également importants dans les présentations.