Japan World Exposition - Osaka 1970 - Expo'70

Human progress and harmony

March 15, 1970 - September 13, 1970


Back - List of Pavilions

Monaco

Monaco at the Exhibition Expo Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

The Grimaldi dynasty that governs the Principality of Monaco, one of the oldest in Europe, is the descendant of an ancient patrician family from Genoa. Jealous of their independence, the sovereigns who have succeeded to the throne of Monaco have sought to preserve the unity of their country in a tradition that has continued from the 11th century to the present day and is personified by His Highness, Prince Rainier III.

Faithful to this tradition, but also resolutely turned towards the future, Prince Rainier is determined to give his country the prodigious growth that makes it one of the most modern of states, through urban planning and tourism and through industrial and commercial expansion.

The Monaco Pavilion was designed to illustrate this dual objective. Its theme: "Tradition and Progress".

In this superb pavilion, alongside portraits of the leading figures of the Grimaldi dynasty, you will find diagrams illustrating this ancient principality moving forward towards modernisation.

A special section presents the scientific achievements of Prince Albert I, one of the initiators of oceanography.

An animated show depicts Monaco's cultural and social activities, festivals and sporting events, such as the famous "Grand Prix" car race. The country's philately is also presented; philatelists can obtain stamps issued especially for Expo'70.

A state still young, where the authority of one man preserves the freedom of every man, this thousand-year-old principality reflects in its harmony one of the oldest civilisations in the world: the Mediterranean culture.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Monaco


Monaco à l'exposition de Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

La dynastie des Grimaldi qui gouverne la Principauté de Monaco, l'une des plus anciennes d'Europe, est la descendante d'une ancienne famille patricienne de Gênes. Jaloux de leur indépendance, les souverains qui ont succédé au trône de Monaco ont cherché à préserver l'unité de leur pays dans une tradition qui s'est perpétuée depuis le 11e siècle jusqu'à aujourd'hui et est personnifiée par son Altesse, le Prince Rainier III.

Fidèle à cette tradition, mais aussi résolument tourné vers l'avenir, le Prince Rainier est déterminé à donner à son pays la croissance prodigieuse qui en font l'un des plus modernes des Etats, à travers l'urbanisme et le tourisme et par l'expansion industrielle et commerciale.

Le Pavillon de Monaco a été conçu pour illustrer ce double objectif. Son thème: "Tradition et Progrès"

Vous trouverez dans ce superbe pavillon, à côté de portraits des figures marquantes de la dynastie des Grimaldi, des diagrammes illustrant cette ancienne principauté en avant vers la modernisation.

Une section spéciale présente les réalisations scientifiques du Prince Albert Ier, l'un des initiateurs de l'océanographie.

Un spectacle animé dépeint les activités culturelles et sociales de Monaco, les festivals et événements sportifs, tels que la célèbre course de voitures "Grand Prix" . La Philatlelie du pays est présentée aussi; philatélistes peuvent obtenir des timbres émis spécialement pour Expo'70.

Un état toujours jeune, où l'autorité d'un seul homme conserve la liberté de chaque homme, cette principauté millénaire reflète dans son harmonie une des plus anciennes civilisations du monde: la culture méditerranéenne.