Back - List of Pavilions

Mexico -

Mexico at the Exhibition Expo Osaka 1970

The Pavilion of Mexico was a citadel, a modern transposition of the spacious citadels of the ceremonial centres of Teotihuacan (City of the Gods). The overall architectural effect symbolised, with symmetrical dynamism, the pre-Columbian concept of dualism and the dynamic union of opposing elements.

The theme was based on the art of language, which has no borders and best expresses the creative genius and spirit of the Mexican people. The motto, "Mexicans, people of the sun, meeting Japan, country of the rising sun, and all the other nations of the world" was inspired by the deep desire rooted in the hearts of all Mexicans that there should be prosperity and social justice for all peoples on earth, manifesting the humanistic supremacy over the Machine, technology and science, so that they could be used to bring about an era of peace and progress for humanity.

To illustrate these concepts, Mexico had used in its pavilion pictorial sculptural symbols, films, masterpieces of art from all eras, crafts, music, dances and sections of the visual arts created especially for Expo'70.

From the main vestibule of the "Sunstone", the "Aztec Calendar", shone at the head of the remarkable collection of masterpieces of pre-Columbian art, baroque religious and new Spanish works of the 17th century, all national treasures. The many images of "Mexico through the centuries" were projected on a cinema screen with original kaleidoscopic effects.

In the pavilion's two outdoor stages, folkloric dances and concerts were presented daily by famous musicians, called "mariachis", filling the air with dynamic rhythms, full of vitality and gaiety.

Indeed, Mexico conveyed through the rich emotion of its art, harmony, as the main structure of the philosophy and concept of life of its people.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Mexique


Mexique à l'exposition de Osaka 1970

Le Pavillon du Mexique était une citadelle une transposition moderne des spacieuses citadelles spacieux des centres cérémoniels de Teotihuacan (Cité des Dieux). L'effet architectural d'ensemble symbolisait, avec un dynamisme symétrique, le concept précolombien de dualisme et de l'union dynamique d'éléments opposés.

Le thème était basé sur l'art de la langue qui n'a pas de frontières et qui exprime le mieux le génie créateur et l'esprit du peuple mexicain. La devise, "Mexicains, les gens du soleil, à la rencontre du Japon, pays du soleil levant, et de toutes les autres nations du monde» était inspirée de la volonté profonde enracinée dans le cœur de tous les Mexicains qu'il y ait une prospérité et justice sociale pour tous les peuples sur la terre, manifestant la suprématie humaniste sur la Machine, la technologie et la science, de sorte qu’ils pouvaient être utilisés pour amener une ère de paix et de progrès pour l'humanité.

Pour illustrer ces concepts, le Mexique avait utilisé dans son pavillon des symboles picturaux sculpturales, des films, des chefs-d'œuvre de l'art de toutes les époques, de l'artisanat, la musique, des danses et des sections des arts plastiques créées spécialement pour Expo'70.

Du vestibule principal de la « Pierre de Soleil », "calendrier aztèque", brillait à la tête de la remarquable collection de chefs-d'œuvre de l'art précolombiens, religieux baroques et des nouveaux ouvrages espagnols du 17ème siècle, tous les trésors nationaux. Les nombreuses images de "Mexique à travers les siècles» étaient projetées sur un écran de cinéma avec des effets kaléidoscopiques originaux.

Dans les deux scènes extérieures du pavillon, des danses folkloriques et des concerts étaient présentés tous les jours par des musiciens fameux, appelé "mariachis" emplissaient l'air de rythmes dynamiques, pleine de vitalité et de gaieté.

En effet, le Mexique transmettait par le biais de l'émotion riche de son art, l'harmonie, en tant que structure principale de la philosophie et le concept de vie de son peuple.