Japan World Exposition - Osaka 1970 - Expo'70

Human progress and harmony

March 15, 1970 - September 13, 1970


Back - List of Pavilions

Mauritius

Mauritius at the Exhibition Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

The objective of the Mauritius Pavilion, in International 2-B, is to provide you with the opportunity to understand very easily and quickly the economic potential of Mauritius, with emphasis on the development of its tourism industry in the context of the history, culture and traditions of this country.

It is fitting that the theme of this pavilion should be "harmony and challenge", so that on the 1865 square kilometres (720 square miles) of mountain and plain, situated on the Tropic of Capricorn, in the middle of the Indian Ocean, 2015 kilometres (1250 miles) from the east coast of the African continent and 805 kilometres (500 miles) from Madagascar, 750,000 people live happily together.

The island was known in early medieval times to Malay and Arab navigators. But the first European visitor was the Portuguese navigator, Pedro Mascarenhas. A few years later, the Dutch established a base, which they later abandoned. Resettled by the French, the island became an important naval base and privateering centre. After 99 years of French administration, the island was ceded to the British, who administered it until 1968, when Mauritius gained its independence.

In the design of the poster, a motif symbolises Mauritius: Star and Key of the Indian Ocean and an international meeting place. Just as the colours of this motif blend harmoniously, so do the Eastern and Western cultures, customs, religions and faiths that make up this mosaic of races.

In addition to the star of the sugar industry, the backbone of the country and recognised as one of the most efficient in the world, the exhibition shows the potential for productive investment. This young nation with an ancient history is taking up the challenge of its economic problem with determination.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Ile Maurice


Ile Maurice à l'exposition de Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

L'objectif du pavillon de l'Ile Maurice, en place international 2-B, est de vous fournir l'occasion de comprendre très facilement et rapidement le potentiel économique de l'île Maurice, en mettant l'accent sur le développement de son industrie touristique dans le contexte de l'histoire, de la culture et des traditions de ce pays.

Il est approprié que le thème de ce pavillon devrait être «l'harmonie et défi», pour que le 1865 km carrés (720 miles carrés) de montagne et de plaine, situé sur le tropique du Capricorne, au milieu de l'océan Indien, à 2015 kilomètres ( 1250 miles) de la côte est du continent africain et à 805 kilomètres (500 miles) en provenance de Madagascar, 790000 personnes vivent heureux ensemble.

L'île était connue, au début de l'époque médiévale, des navigateurs malais et arabes. Mais le premier visiteur européen a été le navigateur portugais, Pedro Mascarenhas. Quelques années plus tard, les Néerlandais ont établi une base, qu'ils ont ensuite abandonnée. Réinstallées par les français, l'île est devenue une importante base navale et un centre de corsaires. Après 99 ans d'administration française, l'île fut cédée aux Britanniques, qui l'ont administré jusqu'en 1968, quand l'Ile Maurice a obtenu son indépendance.

Dans la conception de l'affichage, un motif symbolise l'Ile Maurice: Etoile et Clé de l'Océan Indien et un rendez-vous international. Tout comme les couleurs de ce motif se marient harmonieusement, tout comme les cultures orientale et occidentale, les coutumes, les religions et les confessions qui composent cette mosaïque de races.

Outre vedette de l'industrie sucrière, l'épine dorsale du pays et reconnu comme l'un des plus efficaces au monde, l'exposition montre le potentiel pour des investissements productifs. Cette jeune nation avec une histoire ancienne reprend avec détermination le défi de son problème économique.