Japan World Exposition - Osaka 1970 - Expo'70

Human progress and harmony

March 15, 1970 - September 13, 1970


Back - List of Pavilions

Malaysia

Malaysia at the Exhibition Expo Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

The Malaysian pavilion has a unique architecture based on the rural Malay house and is built entirely of quality Malay wood. The pavilion roof has three symbolic structures in the typical style of "Minangkabau" houses in the southern part of the Malay Peninsula.

The building stands on stilts like a Malaysian "kampong" (village) house and the interior is enhanced by a generous use of wood carvings as well as "Batek" (a hand-painted cloth) and rattan panelling.

Visitors to the Pavilion first pass through an area that introduces Malaysia as a beautiful and growing nation. From there, you move into the main display area which shows Malaysia's progress and highlights the country's natural resources, industrialisation programme and general economic and social development.

On the upper floor is represented the art, culture and history of the different peoples of Malaysia in a traditional and exotic Malaysian setting.

The cultural display particularly emphasises the harmony of the multi-racial society between the different peoples of Malaysia. It also presents the "ancients" of Malaysia as a direct contrast to the ultra-modern presentation in the field of progress.

On the way visitors can rest in a typical Malaysian garden restaurant or eat the famous Malaysian dish on the spit, "satay", while watching a show performed by a troupe of 15 Malaysian artists.

Malaysia's participation in Expo'70 is highlighted by cultural events by a troupe of about 20 artists presenting, for the first time in Japan, Malaysian folklore in all its colour and splendour.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Malaisie


Malaisie à l'exposition de Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

Le pavillon malaisien a une architecture unique basée sur la maison rurale malaise et est entièrement construit en bois malais de qualité. Le toit en pavillon comporte trois structures symboliques dans le style typique des maisons "Minangkabau " dans la région sud de la péninsule malaise.

Le bâtiment se dresse sur pilotis comme dans une maison malaisienne "kampong" (Village) et l'intérieur est renforcée par une utilisation généreuse de sculptures sur bois ainsi que des complexes "Batek" (un tissu peint à la main) et lambris en rotin.

Les visiteurs du Pavillon passent d'abord par une zone qui présente la Malaisie en tant que nation belle et en pleine expansion. De là, vous vous déplacez dans la zone d'affichage principale qui montre les progrès de la Malaisie et met en évidence les ressources naturelles, le programme d'industrialisation et le développement économique et social général du pays.

A l'étage supérieur est représenté l'art, la culture et l'histoire des différents peuples de la Malaisie dans un cadre traditionnel et exotique de la Malaisie.

L'affichage culturel souligne en particulier l'harmonie de la société multiraciale entre les différents peuples de la Malaisie. Il présente également les "anciens" de la Malaisie comme un contraste direct avec la présentation ultra-moderne dans le domaine des progrès.

Sur le chemin les visiteurs peuvent se reposer dans un restaurant typique jardin de Malaisie ou de manger le fameux plat de la Malaisie à la broche, "satay", tout en regardant d'un spectacle réalisé par une troupe de 15 artistes de Malaisie.

La participation de la Malaisie dans Expo'70 est soulignée par des manifestations culturelles par une troupe d'environ 20 artistes présentant, pour la première fois au Japon, le folklore de la Malaisie dans toutes ses couleurs et sa splendeur.