Back - List of Pavilions

Italy - Expo Osaka 1970

Italy at the Exhibition Expo Osaka 1970
© Lizstless ( http://www.flickr.com/photos/lizstless/ )
Architect(s) : Tommaso et Gilberto Valle, Sergio Brusa Pasque.

Visitors to the Italian pavilion "visited" the country itself, thanks to a unique film technique that gave the impression of flying over the cities in a helicopter. When you left, you could take your own souvenir photo, against one of the 10 typical Italian scenes.

The result of a national competition won by two young architect brothers (Tommaso and Gilberto Valle, in collaboration with engineer Sergio Brusa Pasque), the pavilion was a stunning structure, a four-level creation in steel and glass with a series of oblique components. You first entered on a presentation of the history of Italy. A special feature: several television screens tracing the history of Italian explorers in Asia, from Marco Polo to the present day.

"Italy Today", summarised modern life, sport, fashion, science, culture, industry and architecture, and Italian crafts and arts were celebrated in the parade on the second level, near a large scale, classic Italian garden. Another section focused on graphic arts, typography and calligraphy.

Three eras were represented in three interior rooms: a Roman villa, a Renaissance manor house room and a modern salon. And two magnificent bronze works symbolised the continuity of Italian art. The "Mercury" inside the pavilion, by Giambologna, a disciple of Michelangelo, is a masterpiece of the Italian Renaissance. Other works were presented at the entrance of the pavilion, by the sculptor Manzu, author of one of the doors of St. Peter's Cathedral.

An adjacent building, prefabricated in steel and fibreglass, contained a special exhibition on contemporary Italian industrial development. A typical Italian restaurant occupied a corner of the first floor; there was also a shop selling art books, reproductions, books, stamps and other items.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Italie


Italie à l'exposition de Osaka 1970

© Lizstless ( http://www.flickr.com/photos/lizstless/ )
Architecte(s) : Tommaso et Gilberto Valle, Sergio Brusa Pasque.

Les visiteurs du pavillon italien «visiter» le pays lui-même, Merci à une technique de film unique qui donnait l'impression de survoler les villes en hélicoptère. Lorsque vous quittiez, vous pouviez prendre votre propre photo souvenir, contre une des 10 scènes typiques italiennes.

Le résultat d'un concours national gagné par deux jeunes frères architectes (Tommaso et Gilberto Valle, en collaboration avec l'ingénieur Sergio Brusa Pasque), le pavillon était une structure étonnante, une création à quatre niveaux en acier et en verre avec une série de composants obliques. Vous entriez d'abord sur une présentation de l'histoire de l'Italie. Une particularité: plusieurs écrans de télévision retraçant l'histoire des explorateurs italiens en Asie, de Marco Polo à nos jours.

«L'Italie d'aujourd'hui», résumait la vie moderne, le sport, la mode, la science, la culture, l'industrie et architecture.L'artisanat italien et les arts étaient célèbrés à la parade au deuxième niveau, à proximité d'une grande échelle, jardin à l'italienne classique. Une autre section portait sur les arts graphiques, la typographie et la calligraphie.

Trois époques étaient représentées dans trois pièces intérieures : une villa romaine, la salle d'un manoir de la Renaissance et un salon moderne. Et deux magnifiques oeuvres en bronze symbolisaient la continuité de l'art italien. Le «Mercure» à l'intérieur du pavillon, par Giambologna, un disciple de Michel-Ange, est un chef-d'œuvre de la Renaissance italienne. Les autres travaux étaient présentés à l'entrée du pavillon, par le sculpteur Manzu auteur d'une des portes de la cathédrale Saint-Pierre.

Un bâtiment adjacent, préfabriqués en l'acier et fibre de verre, contenait une exposition spéciale sur le développement industriel contemporain italien. Un restaurant italien typique occupait un coin du premier étage; aussi, il y avait un magasin qui vendait des livres d'art, reproductions, livres, timbres et autres articles.