Back - List of Pavilions

Hong Kong - Expo Osaka 1970

Hong Kong at the Exhibition Expo Osaka 1970
© Expo'70

Twice a day, the sailing ceremony is held. A dozen graceful sails resembling bat wings, like the sails of a Chinese fishing junk, are raised and lowered on the masts that overhang the water surrounding the Hong Kong pavilion.

Like Hong Kong itself, the Hong Kong pavilion combines modernism and tradition. Hong Kong owes its success to two factors: one of the most beautiful natural harbours in the world and the dynamic vector of its 4 million inhabitants. As a shipping route to China, Hong Kong flourished as a central warehouse until the first political embargo forced it to cut back on trade. Yet in recent years it has emerged as an industrial force, and is making its presence felt in markets around the world.

The population has grown incredibly, from 600,000 in 1945 to more than six times today. Many of those who came from China brought their skills and ingenuity with them. But Hong Kong is much more than the sum of its industrial efforts; in its territories, a new insight offers a vision of ancient China. There, people have continued to cultivate the land for centuries with the cultural traditions of their ancestors. The East meets the West in the cities, where young people hope for a modern life.

The Hong Kong pavilion shows a broad slice of community life in all its aspects, its industry, its social progress, its festivals, its nightlife and its internationally renowned Cantonese cuisine, here served in the second of the two pavilion buildings. Most importantly, the pavilion shows the world the people who have made Hong Kong what it is today.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Hong Kong


Hong Kong à l'exposition de Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

Deux fois par jour, la cérémonie de la voile est tenu. Une douzaine de voiles gracieuses ressemblants aux ailes de chauve-souris, comme les voiles d'une jonque de pêche chinoise, sont élevées et abaissées sur les mâts qui surplombent l'eau qui entoure de pavillon de Hong Kong.

Comme Hong Kong elle-même, le pavillon de Hong Kong allie le modernisme et tradition. Hong Kong doit son succès à deux facteurs: un des plus beaux ports naturels du monde et le vecteur dynamique de ses 4 millions d'habitants. Passage obligé les voies maritimes vers la Chine, Hong Kong a prospéré comme un entrepôt central jusqu'à ce que le Premier embargos politiques le force à diminuer son commerce. Pourtant, depuis quelques années, il a émergé comme force industrielle, et se fait sentir dans tous les marchés du monde.

La population a connu un essor incroyable, de 600000 en 1945 à plus de 6 six fois d'aujourd'hui. Beaucoup de ceux qui provenaient de la Chine ont apporté avec eux leurs compétences et leur ingéniosité. Mais Hong Kong est bien plus que la somme de ses efforts industriels; dans ses territoires, un nouvel aperçu offre une vision de la Chine ancienne. Là, les gens continuent a cultuver la terre depuis des siècles avec les traditions culturelles de leurs ancêtres. L'Est rencontre l'Ouest dans les villes, où les jeunes espèrent d'une vie moderne.

Le pavillon de Hong Kong montre une large tranche de vie de la communauté sous tous ses aspects, son industrie, ses progrès sociaux, ses festivals, sa vie nocturne et sa cuisine cantonaise de renommée internationale, ici servi dans le second des deux bâtiments du pavillon. Mais surtout, le pavillon montre au monde les gens qui ont fait de Hong Kong ce qu'elle est aujourd'hui.