Japan World Exposition - Osaka 1970 - Expo'70

Human progress and harmony

March 15, 1970 - September 13, 1970


Back - List of Pavilions

Costa Rica

Costa Rica at the Exhibition Expo Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

Costa Rica was discovered, and named, by Christopher Columbus in 1502. It declared its independence in 1821. The backbone of Costa Rica is a chain of highlands that runs northwest to southeast. In central Costa Rica, about 12 kilometres north of the main mountain ridge, is a series of 11 large volcanic cones. The southern Pacific coast, formerly jungle territory, has been opened up and is crossed by the Inter-American Highway.

The population of Costa Rica was estimated at 1707,000 in mid-1969. Over 95 percent of the population is of European origin. The proportion of Spanish blood in Costa Rica is greater than in other Latin American republics. The colonial period was one of poverty and neglect, but since the mid-19th century the country has enjoyed general peace. Visitors to Costa Rica immediately sense the democratic climate that prevails in the country. Every citizen, from the humble peasant to the university professor, has an attitude that combines self-respect with participation in community life. Love of the land is another dominant characteristic of the population, and in this respect, an economic system has been created that functions very well.

The main country products are coffee, bananas, abaca, fibre, meat, cocoa beans and sugar. In the mountainous regions, forest products such as balsa, cedar, dyewood, mahogany and rosewood are produced on the mountain slopes. Costa Rica's main exports are coffee, bananas, cocoa beans, beef and sugar.

Costa Ricans have the highest annual income in Central America, which in 1968 was $457. They also have a high level of education. According to a 1963 survey, about 94 percent of the population in urban areas, and 78 percent in agrarian areas, were literate.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Costa Rica


Costa Rica à l'exposition de Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

Costa Rica a été découvert, et nommé, par Christophe Colomb en 1502. Il a proclamé son indépendance en 1821. L'épine dorsale du Costa Rica est une chaîne de hautes terres qui s'étend du nord-ouest au sud-est. Au Costa Rica central, à environ 12 kilomètres au nord de la crête principale des montagnes, se trouve une série de 11 grands cônes volcaniques. La côte sud du Pacifique, territoire anciennement la jungle, a été ouvert et est traversée par la route interaméricaine.

La population du Costa Rica a été estimé à 1707000 à la mi-1969. Plus de 95 pour cent de la population est d'origine européenne. La proportion de sang espagnol au Costa Rica est plus grande que dans les autres républiques d'Amérique latine. La période coloniale a été celle de la pauvreté et la négligence, mais depuis le milieu du 19e siècle, le pays a joui de la paix en général. Les visiteurs du Costa Rica immédiatement sentent le climat démocratique qui prévaut dans le pays. Chaque citoyen, de l'humble paysan au professeur des études universitaires, a une attitude qui allie le respect de soi, avec la participation à la vie communautaire. Amour de la terre est une autre caractéristique dominante de la population, et à cet égard, un système économique a été créé qui fonctionne de façon très satisfaisante.

Les principaux produits de pays sont le café, les bananes, l'abaca, la fibre, de la viande, fèves de cacao et le sucre. Dans les régions montagneuses, les produits forestiers tels que balsa, de cèdre, bois de teinture, d'acajou et bois de rose sont produits sur les pentes montagneuses. Les principales exportations du Costa Rica sont le café, les bananes, fèves de cacao, le bœuf, le sucre.

Costariciens ont le revenu annule le plus élevé d'Amérique centrale, qui en 1968 était de 457 $. Ils ont aussi un niveau élevé d'éducation. Selon une enquête réalisée en 1963, environ 94 pour cent de la population dans les zones urbaines, et 78 pour cent dans les zones agraires, ont été alphabétisés.