Back - List of Pavilions

Chile -

Chile at the Exhibition Expo Osaka 1970
© Expo'70
Architect(s) : Federico Guevara, Gonzalo Asenjo et Isaac Esquenazi.

"Expanding the horizons of the Pacific" was the theme of the pavilion, and Chile was resolutely looking towards the Pacific and Asian nations to expand its cultural and commercial relations.
This was the first exhibition of its kind in which Chile had participated since the 1889 Paris Exposition Universelle, a demonstration of the importance Chile placed on Expo'70. To further demonstrate this, it can be pointed out that Chile was the first South American country to validate its participation. Chile also issued a series of stamps commemorating the World Expo in Japan.

The Chilean pavilion was designed by the Chilean architects Federico Guevara, Gonzalo Asenjo and Isaac Esquenazi. In collaboration with the architect Hugo Hernandez and the engineers Ramon Undurraga and Paul Ramirez. The building was a steel cylinder resting on a reticular structure of steel pipes, it had a roof of Chilean copper sheets.

It was taken into account to take full advantage of the potentialities of the building materials, as limited as by any stability standards. Thus, the pavilion reflected one of the fundamental characteristics of the Chilean people: their love of simplicity, elegance and balance in their daily lives. This character trait is revealed in the way they use all their resources and knowledge in a rational way.

The pavilion was located opposite the Plaza on Friday. At the entrance, a volcanic stone moai brought from Easter Island symbolised Chile's presence in the Pacific. The interior design presented an image of Chile in its geographical, cultural, industrial, institutional and human context through media such as audio-visuals and files that the visitor discovered an oasis of rest and tranquillity.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Chili


Chili à l'exposition de Osaka 1970

© Expo'70
Architecte(s) : Federico Guevara, Gonzalo Asenjo et Isaac Esquenazi.

«Élargir les horizons du Pacifique" était le thème du pavillon, et le Chili était résolument tourné vers le Pacifique et les nations de l'Asie en vue d'élargir ses relations culturelles et commerciales.
Il s'agissait de la première exposition de ce type dans laquelle le Chili participait depuis l'Exposition Universelle de Paris de 1889, une démonstration de l'importance que le Chili placait dans l'Expo'70. Pour montrer davantage encore, il peut être souligné que le Chili était le premier pays d'Amérique du Sud a valider sa participation. Le Chili a également publié une série de timbres commémorant l'Exposition universelle au Japon.

Le pavillon chilien a été conçu par les architectes chiliens Federico Guevara, Gonzalo Asenjo et Isaac Esquenazi. En collaboration avec avec l'architecte Hugo Hernandez et les ingénieurs et Ramon Undurraga et Paul Ramirez. Le bâtiment était un cylindre d'acier reposant sur une structure réticulaire en tuyaux en acier, il avait un toit de feuilles de cuivre chilien.

Il a été tenu compte de tirer pleinement parti des potentialités des matériaux de construction, aussi limité que par toutes les normes de stabilité. Ainsi, le pavillon reflètait l'une des caractéristiques fondamentales du peuple chilien: leur amour de la simplicité, d'élégance et d'équilibre dans leur vie quotidienne. Ce trait de caractère se révèle dans la façon dont elles utilisent toutes leurs ressources et connaissances d'une manière rationnelle.

Le pavillon était situé en face de la Plaza vendredi. A l'entrée, un moai en pierre volcanique apporté de l'île de Pâques symbolisait la présence du Chili dans le Pacifique. L'aménagement intérieur présentait une image du Chili dans son contexte géographique, culturel, industriel, institutionnel et les aspects humains à travers des médias tels que des moyens audio-visuels et les dossiers que le visiteur découvrait une oasis de repos et de tranquilité.