Back - List of Pavilions

Ceylon - Expo Osaka 1970

Ceylon at the Exhibition Expo Osaka 1970
© Expo'70

Ceylon has been variously called Lank (Kingdom of the Lion Race), Tamba Panni (Land of the Red Earth) from which the Greeks and Romans derived the name Taprobane, Dhamma Dvipa (Land of the Doctrine), Sinhale and Sinhala Dvipa (Sojourn of the Lion Race) which was derived from the names alternately Serendib celiao, Zeilan and finally Ceylon. The country is situated on important trade routes between the East and the West and is rich in historical tradition with culture dating back over 3000 years.

The Ceylon pavilion was a two-storey building made of a reinforced concrete structure with an outer layer of glass, a unique innovation in design. The interior walls depicted a fresco of Buddhist arts. The exhibition featured archaeological treasures in gold, bronze and wood, and original stone statues. Some items dated back as far as 800 years or more and had never been shown before outside the country. Famous stones including the giant blue sapphire were on display. More than 100 octagon-shaped lanterns were lit in the pavilion.

In the centre of the compound, with a pond in the background, stood a bronze replica of a large leaf of the Bo tree. Tradition has it that Gautama Buddha attained enlightenment after meditating under a Bo tree. A sapling of this tree was introduced to Ceylon and is now considered the oldest tree in the world with a religious tradition.

A restaurant in the pavilion offered delicious herbal tea, pure Ceylon tea and typical Ceylon dishes. Visitors to the restaurant could see films illustrating the diversity and beauty of the island renowned through the ages for its landscapes, its wealth of precious stones, its fertile land and its sacred places.

Ceylon tea, in attractive packages, was available for purchase in the restaurant.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Ceylan


Ceylan à l'exposition de Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

Ceylan a été diversement appelée Lank (Royaume de la course de Lion), Tamba Panni (Pays de la Terre rouge) dont les Grecs et les Romains ont dérivé le nom Taprobane, Dhamma Dvipa (terrain de la doctrine), Sinhale et Sinhala Dvipa (séjour de la course du Lion) qui a été dérivée à partir des noms alternativement Serendib celiao, Zeilan et enfin Ceylan. Le pays est situé sur les routes commerciales importantes entre l'Est et l'Ouest et est riche en tradition historique dont la culture remonte à plus de 3000 ans.

Le pavillon de Ceylan était un bâtiment à deux étages fait d’une structure en béton armé avec une couche extérieure de verre, une innovation unique dans la conception. Les murs intérieurs dépeignaient une fresque représentant les arts bouddhiste. Cette exposition présentait les trésors archéologiques en l'or, en bronze et en bois, et des statues en pierre d'origine. Certains articles remontaient aussi loin que 800 ans ou plus et n'avaient jamais été montrés avant en dehors du pays. De fameuses pierres dont le saphir bleu géant y étaient exposés. Plus cent lanternes en forme d’octogone s'allumaient dans le pavillon.

Dans le centre de l'enceinte, avec un étang en arrière-plan, se tenait une réplique en bronze d'une grande feuille de l'arbre Bo. La tradition veut que le Bouddha Gautama atteignit l'illumination, après avoir médité sous un arbre Bo. Un jeune de cet arbre avait été introduit à Ceylan et est aujourd'hui considérée comme le plus ancien arbre du monde avec une tradition religieuse.

Un restaurant dans le pavillon offrait une délicieuse infusion, thé pur Ceylan et des plats typiques de Ceylan. Les visiteurs de la salle de restaurant pouvait voir des films illustrant la diversité et la beauté de l'île renommée à travers les âges pour ses paysages, sa richesse en pierres précieuses, ses terres fertiles un de ses lieux sacrés.

Thé de Ceylan, dans des paquets attractifs, était disponible à l'achat dans le restaurant.