Back - List of Pavilions

Belgium - Expo Osaka 1970

Belgium at the Exhibition Expo Osaka 1970
© Expo'70

The Belgian pavilion, under the theme "You and Us", gave millions of visitors the image of a true, simple and human Belgium; the image of people striving for a better human condition in brotherhood and peace.

A harmonious blend of traditional Belgian and Japanese architectural features, the Belgian pavilion with its curved white walls and red clay tiles was set in a garden created to represent the smallness and total use of the national territory.

From this configuration of intensive and diversified agriculture, the visitor entered the "Present" section. Here, Belgians at work, surrounded by their institutions, were illustrated through an audio-visual environment that presented the main national industries.

In the 'Past' section, a succession of paintings, tapestries, jewellery and other works of ancient art, described the power and dynamism with which the Belgians have fought the ages for the progress of humanity.

The third section, "The Future", showed the complexity and speed of today's technological evolution but underlined the Belgian vision that humanism will keep control over the effects of mechanisation.

In the main part of the exhibition, visitors could enjoy themselves in a small luxurious restaurant and a large, moderately priced cafeteria where they could taste typical Belgian dishes.

Belgium hosted the first international and world exhibition after the Second World War, the 1958 Brussels International and World Exhibition.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Belgique


Belgique à l'exposition de Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

Le pavillon Belge, sous le thème « Vous et Nous », donnait à des millions de visiteurs l’image d’une Belgique vrai, simple et humaine ; l’image de gens luttant pour une meilleure condition humaine dans la fraternité et la paix.

Un mélange harmonieux des caractéristiques traditionnelles de l’architecture Belge et japonaise, le pavillon Belge avec ses mur courbés blancs et ses tuiles en terre cuite rouges était situé dans un jardin crée pour représenter l’exiguïté et l’utilisation totale du territoire national.

De cette configuration d’une agriculture intensive et diversifiée, le visiteur entrait dans la section du « Présent ». Ici était illustré les belges au travail, entouré de ses institutions, à travers un environnement audio-visuel qui présentait les principale industries nationales.

Dans la section le « Passé », une succession de peintures , tapisseries, pièces de joaillerie et autres travails de l’art ancien, décrivait la puissance et le dynamisme avec lesquels les Belges ont combattu les ages pour le progrès de l’humanité.

La troisième section, qui était le « Futur », montrait la complexité et la rapidité que l’évolution technologique d’aujourd’hui mais soulignait la vision Belge que l’humanisme gardera le contrôle sue les effets de la mécanisation.

Dans la partie principale de l’exposition, le visiteur pouvait ce divertir dans un petit restaurant luxueux et un grande cafétaria au prix modérés où il pouvait déguster des plats belges typiques.

La Belgique avait accueilli la première exposition universelle et internationale après la seconde guerre mondiale, l’exposition universelle et internationale de Bruxelles 1958.