Japan World Exposition - Osaka 1970 - Expo'70

Human progress and harmony

March 15, 1970 - September 13, 1970


Back - List of Pavilions

Alaska

Alaska at the Exhibition Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

Alsaka was purchased by the US from Russia in 1867 and admitted to the US Union as the 49th state in 1959. It occupies the northwestern part of North America, and is the largest state in the USA. Due to the abundance of natural resources in fishing, forestry, mining, oil and gas, this state has the potential to become one of the richest in the Union.

Much of Alaska is tundra and mountains with glaciers and snow-capped mountains, including Mount McKinley, the highest peak in North America. The southern and south-eastern coasts are washed by the warm Japanese current, which brings a mild, temperate climate to the region.

Alaska was first explored in 1741 by Vitus Bering, a Dane in Russian service. He was followed a few years later by renowned explorers like James Cook, George Vancouver and Alexander Mckenzie.

It was sparsely populated until 1880 when gold was discovered near Juneau. Subsequent discoveries of gold in the Canadian territory of Yukon, Nome and Fairbanks, increased the influx of settlers.

Today, Alaska has a population of 280,000. Of this number 55,000 are Eskimos and American Indians. The Eskimos live in the coastal areas of the northwest while retaining some of their ancient customs. But, as elsewhere in the world, their lives have become more westernised.

Alsaka hopes to change its image from an "icy, snowy" region to that of a modern state. She intends to do this through her unique pieces at Expo'70, which she is sharing part of the American Park pavilion. This includes the tallest Indian totem pole in the world, belonging to the village of Kake in Alaska.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Alaska


Alaska à l'exposition de Osaka 1970

© Expo'70

Alsaka a été acheté par les USA à la Russie en 1867 et admis dans l'Union des États-Unis comme le 49ième état en 1959. Il occupe la partie nord-ouest de l'Amérique du Nord, et est le plus grand état des Etats-Unis. En raison de l'abondance des ressources naturelles dans la pêche, les forêts, l'exploitation minière, pétrolière et gazière, cet état possède les potentialités de devenir l'un des plus riches de l'Union.

Une grande partie de la superficie de l'Alaska n'est que toundra et montagnes avec des glaciers et des montagnes enneigées, parmi lesquels se trouve le mont McKinley, le plus haut sommet d'Amérique du Nord. Les côtes sud et sud-orientale sont lavés par le courant chaud du Japon, qui apporte à la région un climat doux et tempéré.

Alaska a d'abord été explorée en 1741 par Vitus Bering, un Danois au service de la Russie. Il a été suivi quelques années plus tard par des explorateurs renommés comme James Cook, George Vancouver et Alexander Mckenzie.

Il était peu peuplée jusqu'en 1880 quand l'or a été découvert près de Juneau. Des découvertes ultérieures de l'or en territoire canadien du Yukon, Nome et Fairbanks, renforca l'afflux de colons.

Aujourd'hui, l'Alaska a une population de 280000. De ce nombre 55000 sont les Esquimaux et les Indiens d'Amérique. Les Esquimaux vivent dans les zones côtières du nord-ouest tout en conservant certaines de leurs anciennes coutumes. Mais, comme ailleurs dans le monde, leur vie s'est occidentalisée.

Alsaka espère changer son image de région "glacée et de enneigée" à celle d'un etat moderne. Elle a l'intention de le faire à travers ses pièces uniques à Expo'70, qu'elle partage une partie du pavillon Américan Park. Cela inclut le plus haut totem indien du le monde, appartenant au village de Kake en Alaska.