Back - List of Pavilions

Steel - Expo Montreal 1967

Steel at the Exhibition Expo Montreal 1967
© expo67
Architect(s) : Mathers & Haldenby

The Big Four of the Canadian steel industry: Dosco Steel Ltd., The Algoma Steel Corporation, Dominion Foundries and Steel and The Steel Company of Canada, have built an A-shaped pavilion made entirely of steel, the height of which is equivalent to a ten-storey building.

Under the general theme "Man forges his power", the presentation is divided into three parts.

In the section "Fire in the service of mankind", the visitor can watch iron ore being transformed first into cast iron in a blast furnace and then into steel in an oxygen furnace, using cutaway models. The visitor can see a huge ladle pouring the molten metal into the ingot moulds. From the top of a footbridge, they can watch these operations and smell the vibrations and odours that give them the illusion of being in a real steelworks.

In the section "The machine at the service of man", we see how the steel ingot is transformed into a finished product and how man shapes steel into one of the most useful metals in the world. The steel passes through a series of rolling mills that transform it into thin sheets, rods or beams.

Around the "Metal for People" area, a number of steel products are displayed as abstract works of art. From there, visitors move on to the cinema room where the colour film "Man as Master of the Elements" is shown. The film, with its striking images and original music, shows how man has improved his living conditions by learning to master the four elements: earth and water, air and fire.

© Expo67 - General Report

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Acier


Acier à l'exposition de Montréal 1967

© expo67
Architecte(s) : Mathers & Haldenby

Les quatre grands de la sidérurgie canadienne: les Aciéries Dosco Ltée, The Algoma Steel Corporation, Dominion Foundries and Steel et The Steel Company of Canada, ont construit un pavillon en forme de A et entièrement fait d'acier, dont la hauteur équivaut a celle d'un immeuble de dix étages.

Sous le thème général "L'homme forge sa puissance'?, la présentation se divise en trois parties.

Dans le secteur "Le feu au service de l'homme", on observe, grâce a des maquettes en coupe, le minerai de fer se transformer d'abord en fonte dans un haut-fourneau, puis en acier dans un four à oxygène. Le visiteur peut voir une énorme poche de coulée déverser le métal en fusion dans les lingotières. Du haut d'une passerelle, il assiste a ces opérations et sent des vibrations et des odeurs qui lui donnent l'illusion de se trouver dans une véritable aciérie.

Dans le secteur "La machine au service de l'homme", on voit comment le lingot d'acier se transforme en produit fini et comment l'homme façonne l'acier pour en faire un des métaux les plus utiles au monde. L'acier passe par une série de laminoirs qui le transforment en tôles minces, en tiges ou en poutrelles.

Tout autour du secteur "Le métal au service de l'homme", un certain nombre de produits d'acier sont exposés sous forme d’œuvres d'art abstraites. De la, les visiteurs passent a la salle de cinéma o\l l'on projette le film en couleur "L'homme maître des éléments". Ce film, dont les images saisissantes sont accompagnées d'une musique originale, montre comment l'homme a amélioré ses conditions de vie en apprenant à dompter les quatre éléments: la terre et l'eau, l'air et le feu.

© Expo67 - Rapport Général