Back - List of Pavilions

Kaleidoscope -

Kaleidoscope at the Exhibition Expo Montreal 1967
© expo67
Architect(s) : Institute of Design, Waterloo & Irving Grossman

The pavilion is circular in shape, 95 feet in diameter and 25 feet high. It is surrounded by 112 slats of colour in the light spectrum, so that visitors passing by have the impression that the whole building is made of shifting hues. The theme of the presentation is "Man and Colour" and the exhibits are intended to demonstrate the physical and psychological influence of colour on the human being.

Entering the pavilion, one can imagine oneself in a kaleidoscope. In the three rooms that follow one another after the entrance hall and that lead back to the exit, circling the central core where the administrative and technical services are housed, the visitor, in 12 minutes, goes through the complete cycle of the day, from dawn to dusk. This is an integral application of polychromy, underlined by a polyphonic accompaniment, which marks the relationship between music and colours.

In the first room, we are first plunged into total darkness, before witnessing the sunrise from the infinite horizon. In the next room, the luminosity becomes more intense, the colours more vivid and varied. Amplified by a set of mirrors, the images are coloured with bright tones whose range is as wide as the various tensions that characterise modern life. In the last room, spherical images present the sumptuous colours of the setting sun.

The Kaleidoscope is the work of six major chemical companies: CIL, Chemcell, Cyanamid, Dow Chemical, Shawini-gan Chemicals and Union Carbide.

© Expo67 - General Report

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Kaléidoscope


Kaléidoscope à l'exposition de Montréal 1967

© expo67
Architecte(s) : Institute of Design, Waterloo & Irving Grossman

De forme circulaire, ce pavillon a 95 pieds de diamètre et 25 pieds de hauteur. Il est entouré de 112 lames aux couleurs du spectre de la lumière, de sorte que les visiteurs passant a proximité ont l'impression que tout l'édifice est fait de teintes mouvantes. Le thème de la présentation est "l'homme et la couleur" et les éléments d'exposition tendent à démontrer l'influence physique et psychologique de la couleur sur l'être humain.

En pénétrant dans le pavillon, on peut se croire au sein même d'un kaléidoscope. Dans les trois salles qui se suivent après le hall d'entrée et qui y ramènent pour la sortie en faisant le tour du noyau central où sont logés les services administratifs et techniques, le visiteur, en 12 minutes, parcourt le cycle complet du jour, de l'aube au crépuscule. Il s'agit d'une application intégrale de la polychromie, soulignée par un accompagnement polyphonique, ce qui marque le rapport entre la musique et les couleurs.

Dans la première salle, on est d'abord plongé dans l'obscurité totale, avant d'assister au lever du soleil qui surgit de l'horizon infini. Dans la salle suivante, la luminosité devient plus intense, les couleurs sont plus franches et plus variées. Amplifiées par un jeu de miroirs, les images se colorent de tons vifs dont la gamme est aussi étendue que les tensions diverses qui caractérisent la vie moderne. Dans la dernière salle, des images sphériques présentent les somptueuses couleurs du soleil couchant.

Le Kaléidoscope est une réalisation de six grandes industries chimiques: CIL, Chemcell, Cyanamid, Dow Chemical, Shawini-gan Chemicals et Union Carbide.

© Expo67 - Rapport Général