World and International Exhibition Montreal 1967 - Expo67

Man and his Universe

April 28, 1967 - October 29, 1967


Back - List of Pavilions

Morocco

Morocco at the Exhibition Montreal 1967

© expo67

The architecture of the Moroccan pavilion is reminiscent of the Islamic style as it developed in this North African country. The woodwork and plasterwork on the ceiling are beautifully carved, as are the elegant arcades with their exceptionally fine interlacing. As for the floor, it is covered with polychrome mosaics very particular to Moroccan art. In the centre of the pavilion, under a dome, dioramas represent the imperial city of Meknes and the large southern town of Tinghir. To complete the illusion of being on Islamic soil, the pavilion is flanked by a slender minaret, 65 feet high, also built in the Cherifian-Arabic style.

An infinite variety of exhibits tell the story of Morocco, divided into two distinct stages: the first from ancient times to independence (1956) and the second from independence to the present. The first stage focuses on Morocco's contribution to the common universal heritage, while the second stage presents modern Moroccan achievements.

In the showcases, one can admire a Phoenician sphynx, a Neolithic vase, a Punic lamp, a Bac chu, a Berber head, etc. Elsewhere are displayed ancient coins, jewellery, daggers, ceramics, wrought iron and carpets.

There are illustrations of Casablanca, the great port of Africa, and of the new Agadir. The progress made in education, public hygiene, industry and agriculture can be seen.

© Expo67 - General Report

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Maroc


Maroc à l'exposition de Montréal 1967

© expo67

Par son architecture, le pavillon du Maroc évoque le style islamique tel qu'il s'est développé dans ce pays d'Afrique du Nord. Les boiseries et les plâtres du plafond portent des motifs sculptés d'un bel effet décoratif, de même que les élégantes arcades dont les entrelacs sont d'une rare finesse. Quant au plancher, il est recouvert de mosaïques polychromes très particulières à l'art marocain. Au centre du pavillon, sous une coupole, des dioramas représentent l'un la ville impériale de Meknès, l'autre, le gros bourg méridionale de Tinghir. Pour compléter l'illusion de se trouver en terre islamique, on a flanqué ce pavillon d'un minaret élancé, haut de 65 pieds, également construit dans le style chérifien-arabe.

Une variété infinie d'éléments d'exposition racontent l'histoire du Maroc, divisée en deux étapes distinctes: la première va des temps anciens jusqu'à l'indépendance (1956) et la seconde, depuis l'indépendance jusqu'à nos jours. Dans la première, on met l'accent sur la contribution du Maroc au patrimoine universel commun, tandis que dans la seconde, on présente les réalisations marocaines modernes.

Dans les vitrines, on peut admirer un sphynx phénicien, un vase néolithique, une lampe punique, un Bac chu s, une tête de berbère, etc. Ailleurs sont étalés des monnaies antiques, des bijoux, des dagues, des céramiques, du fer forgé et des tapis.

On peut voir des illustrations de Casablanca, grand port d'Afrique et de la nouvelle Agadir. On peut se rendre compte des progrès accomplis en ce qui concerne l'enseignement, l'hygiène publique, l'industrie et l'agriculture.

© Expo67 - Rapport Général