World and International Exhibition Montreal 1967 - Expo67

Man and his Universe

April 28, 1967 - October 29, 1967


Back - List of Pavilions

Mexico

Mexico at the Exhibition Montreal 1967

© expo67

Architect(s) : Antonio Garcia Corona, Leonardo Favela Rey, Frederico Muggenburg

The pavilion of Mexico looks like a gigantic shell that opens up to the sun. It stands on a vast plaza decorated with an imposing Mayan arch, angel musicians and other large sculptures.

At the entrance to the pavilion - a veritable museum where art reigns supreme - a mural illustrates the theme of the presentation: the Mexican and his environment, man, nature, history, progress, aspirations. There are rich collections of prehistoric, pre-Columbian and neo-Spanish art. Mexico - a country of contrasts - also presents works by its contemporary artists.

Excavations undertaken in recent years have yielded some extraordinary pieces, many of which are on display in the pavilion and are reminiscent of the Aztec, Maya, Olmec and Toltec empires. Religious art is represented by the sacred chambers of Bonampak with their frescoed walls and images of Quetzalcoatl, the gods of rain, virility, war, and the goddesses of life and death, as well as by the incredibly rich gold and silver altars from the Baroque period, and statues of Christ and the saints.

Another contrast: the modern period. The progress achieved is evoked: the University City, the medical centre, the housing centre of Mexico City.

Sports are in the spotlight: bullfighting, football, car racing, polo, tennis, pelota. Ancient customs are brought to life in the dances and costumes of modern Mexico. At the exit of the pavilion, sculptures of ancient Mexican athletes are displayed, and next to them is an onyx statue of a palm player.

At the Fonda Santa Anita restaurant and the Acapulco bar, visitors can enjoy Mexican specialties to the tune of guitars and the trumpets of the Mariachis.

© Expo67 - General Report

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Mexique


Mexique à l'exposition de Montréal 1967

© expo67
Architecte(s) : Antonio Garcia Corona, Leonardo Favela Rey, Frederico Muggenburg

Le pavillon du Mexique a l'aspect d'un gigantesque coquillage qui s'ouvre au soleil. Il s'élève sur une vaste place ornée d'un imposant arc maya, d'anges musiciens et d'autres grandes sculptures.

Des l'entrée du pavillon - véritable musée où l'art règne en maître - une peinture murale illustre le thème de la présentation: le Mexicain et son milieu, l'homme, la nature, l'histoire, le progrès, les aspirations. On peut admirer de riches collections d'art préhistorique, précolombien et néo-espagnol. Le Mexique - pays de contrastes - présente également des oeuvres de ses artistes contemporains.

Les fouilles entreprises au cours des récentes années ont permis de retirer des pièces extraordinaires dont plusieurs sont exposées au pavillon et rappellent les empires aztèque, maya, olmèque et toltèque. L'art religieux est représenté aussi bien par les chambres sacrées de Bonampak aux murs couverts de fresques et les images de Quetzalcoatl, des dieux de la pluie, de la virilité, de la guerre, des déesses de la vie et de la mort, que par les autels d'or et d'argent d'une richesse inouïe, exécutés au cour de la période baroque, les statues du Christ et des saints.

Autre contraste: la période moderne. Evocation des progrès accomplis: la Cité universitaire, le centre médical, le centre domiciliaire de Mexico.

Les sports sont à l'honneur: combats de taureaux, football, courses de voitures, polo, tennis, pelote. Les coutumes millénaires revivent dans les danses et les costumes du Mexique moderne. A la sortie du pavillon, des sculptures représentent des athlètes mexicains de l'antiquité et, tout a côté, la statue en onyx d'un joueur de paume.

Au restaurant Fonda Santa Anita, et au bar Acapulco, le visiteur peut déguster des spécialités mexicaines aux accords des guitares et au son des trompettes des Mariachis.

© Expo67 - Rapport Général