Back - List of Pavilions

Federal Republic of Germany - Expo Montreal 1967

Federal Republic of Germany at the Exhibition Expo Montreal 1967
© expo67
Architect(s) : Rolf Gutbrod, Frei Otto

The pavilion of the Federal Republic of Germany marks an innovation in 20th century architectural concepts. Its tent-like roof consists of a steel mesh covering a film of translucent plastic. It is suspended from eight giant masts, the highest of which rises 120 feet into the air. The glass screens surrounding the structure eliminate wind and drafts. The roof was shipped from Germany, rolled up like a carpet, and erected on the shores of Lake Regatta in less than six weeks.

Under the huge plastic tent, the exhibition areas are bathed in diffuse light. The exhibition areas are arranged in terraces and connected by stairs and walkways. The visitor can wander at will through the roofed landscape, where no walls limit the view.

The pavilion presents its theme "The Federal Republic, the country and its people" in four main areas: art, science, economy and society. On a tour of the pavilion, you can see, among other things, the table on which the physicist Otto Hahn discovered the fissile properties of uranium in 1938, the German-built bathyscaphe used by Auguste Picard to explore the oceans, some of the cameras used by American astronauts, the first map on which the word "America" appeared, and the old Gutenberg press. In the arts, music plays a major role.

Films and performances are shown in an auditorium built, like the pavilion itself, in an unusual way. There are also three restaurants in the pavilion: a café, a Berlin brasserie and a first-class restaurant.

© Expo67 - General Report

Retour - Liste Pavillons

République Fédérale d'Allemagne


République Fédérale d'Allemagne à l'exposition de Montréal 1967

© expo67
Architecte(s) : Rolf Gutbrod, Frei Otto

Le pavillon de la République fédérale d'Allemagne marque une innovation dans les concepts architecturaux du 20ème siècle. Son toit en forme de tente se compose d'un filet d'acier recouvrant une pellicule de matière plastique translucide. Il est suspendu à huit mâts géants dont le plus haut s'élève a 120 pieds dans les airs. Les écrans de verre qui entourent la charpente éliminent vents et courants d'air. Le toit fut expédié d'Allemagne roulé comme un tapis, puis érigé sur les bords du lac des Régates, en moins de six semaines.

Sous l'immense tente de plastique, une lumière diffuse baigne les secteurs d'exposition. Ceux-ci sont disposés en terrasses et reliés entre eux par des escaliers et des passerelles. Le visiteur peut se promener à sa guise dans ce paysage sous toit ou nulle cloison ne limite le champ visuel.

Le pavillon présente son thème "la République fédérale, le pays et ses habitants", à travers quatre aspects majeurs: l'art, la science, l'économie et le milieu social. Au gré d'une visite, on peut y voir, entre autres, la table sur laquelle le physicien Otto Hahn découvrit, en 1938, les propriétés fissiles de l'uranium, le bathyscaphe construit en Allemagne dont se servit Auguste Picard pour explorer les océans, certains appareils photographiques utilisés par les astronautes américains, la première carte sur laquelle apparut le mot "Amérique", la vieille presse de Gutenberg. Dans le domaine des arts, la musique occupe une place prépondérante .

Des films et des spectacles sont présentés dans un auditorium construit, comme le pavillon lui-même, selon des méthodes inusitées. Il y a également, dans le pavillon, trois restaurants: un café, une brasserie berlinoise et un restaurant de première catégorie.

© Expo'67 - Rapport Général