Back - List of Pavilions

Guyana and Barbados - Expo Montreal 1967

Guyana and Barbados at the Exhibition Expo Montreal 1967
© expo67
Architect(s) : George F. Eber

Barbados and Guyana joined forces to build a pavilion at Expo 67.

The pavilion consists of a series of hexagonal structures mounted on stilts; the walls are white and the roofs are dark brown. The materials used are stucco, wood from Guyana and coral from Barbados. The roof is in the form of a six-sided pyramid with a translucent fibreglass peak that acts as a skylight.

Inside the pavilion, each country has its own sector. Four exhibition halls are connected to each other. The entrance on the right leads to the section reserved for Barbados. The history of a proud people is presented first, followed by its current situation with the tourist industry and its economy based on sugar cane cultivation. The future is seen through the role Barbados plays in peace-oriented scientific research, especially high-altitude research, a project pursued by McGill University in Montreal.

The section on Guyana presents the history of the country and the evolution of its six ethnic groups from the era of slavery to independence. Bauxite, gold, diamonds and iron ore are among the riches of the subsoil.

A tropical bar offers cocktails made of rum from both countries. Visitors can admire the colourful toucans and macaws, listen to calypso tunes or chat with the Bridgetown harbour police in their Admiral Nelson uniforms, as well as with members of the world-famous Barbados Mounted Police and Troupe.

© Expo67 - General Report

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Guyane et Barbade


Guyane et Barbade à l'exposition de Montréal 1967

© expo67
Architecte(s) : George F. Eber

La Barbade et la Guyane se sont groupées pour construire un pavillon à l'Expo 67.

Celui-ci se compose d'une série de structures hexagonales montées sur pilotis; les murs sont blancs et les toits, brun sombre. Les matériaux sont le stuc, le bois de la Guyane et le corail de la Barbade. Le toit est en forme de pyramide à. six faces dont la pointe, en fibre de verre translucide, est un puits de lumière.

A l'intérieur du pavillon, chaque pays a son propre secteur. Quatre salles d'exposition communiquent entre elles. L'entrée de droite conduit a la section réservée a la Barbade. On fait d'abord connaître l'histoire d'un peuple fier, ensuite sa situation actuelle avec l'industrie touristique et son économie qui repose sur la culture de la canne a sucre. L'avenir s'entrevoit grâce au rôle que la Barbade joue dans la recherche scientifique orientée vers la paix, spécialement la recherche à haute altitude, projet poursuivi par l'Université McGill, de Montréal.

La section consacrée a la Guyane présente l'histoire de ce pays et l'évolution de ses six groupes ethniques, depuis l'ère de l'esclavage jusqu'à celui de l'indépendance. Bauxite, or, diamant, minerai de fer sont au nombre des richesses du sous-sol.

Un bar d'ambiance tropicale offre des cocktails faits de rhum des deux pays. Le visiteur peut admirer les toucans et les aras au plumage multicolore, écouter des airs de calypso ou causer avec les policiers du port de Bridgetown dans leurs uniformes de l'époque de l'amiral Nelson, ainsi qu'avec les membres de la police et de la troupe montée de la Barbade, célèbre dans le monde entier.

© Expo67 - Rapport Général