Back - List of Pavilions

European Communities - Expo Montreal 1967

European Communities at the Exhibition Expo Montreal 1967
© expo67
Architect(s) : Crivelli, Serafini-Pozzi, Bowenter

The pavilion housing the European Communities is made of glass and steel. Its bold architectural design is reminiscent of a diamond with a thousand facets, symbolising the influence of today's Europe.

The use of steel reminds us that the member countries of the Communities (Federal Republic of Germany, Belgium, France, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands) joined forces in 1951 to create the European Coal and Steel Community, which led to the first European market.

An impressive team of European and Canadian architects, engineers and decorators participated in the construction of this pavilion.

Upon entering, the visitor is struck by the originality and diversity of the exhibits, among which a Flemish tapestry representing the forges of Vulcan is worth mentioning. Behind this tapestry, transparent paintings depict great Europeans who have distinguished themselves in the arts, philosophy and science.

The panorama of the medieval city of Mainz is then presented to the visitor, while the theme "Six countries have decided to live together" is interpreted in the form of a luminous text projected onto a painting and recalling the achievement of European integration.

On the first floor, there are also models recalling the origins of Europe, the Bible printed by Gutenberg, two magnificent dioramas on War and Peace by Max Ingrand, "the library of a young French-speaking Canadian couple", "the library of an English-speaking Canadian or American couple", "the library of a European couple" and a record library containing 150 carefully selected records of European, classical and modern music.

© Expo67 - General Report

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Communautés Européennes


Communautés Européennes à l'exposition de Montréal 1967

© expo67
Architecte(s) : Crivelli, Serafini-Pozzi, Bowenter

Le pavillon qui abrite les Communautés européennes est fait de verre et d'acier. De conception architecturale hardie, sa forme rappelle un diamant aux mille facettes, symbole du rayonnement de l'Europe actuelle.

L'usage de l'acier rappelle que les pays-membre s des Communautés (République fédérale d'Allemagne, Belgique, France, Italie, Luxembourg, Pays-Bas) avaient, en 1951, réuni leurs efforts en créant la Communauté européenne du charbon et de l'acier, qui est à l'origine du premier Marché européen.

Une imposante équipe d'architectes, ingénieurs et décorateurs européens et canadiens ont participé a la construction de ce pavillon.

Des l'entrée, le visiteur est saisi par l'originalité et la diversité des objets exposés, parmi lesquels il y a lieu de signaler une tapisserie flamande, représentant les forges de Vulcain. Derrière cette tapisserie, des tableaux transparents représentent des grands Européens qui se sont illustrés dans les lettres, les arts, la philosophie et les sciences.

Le panorama de la ville médiévale de Mayence s'offre ensuite a la vue du visiteur, alors que le thème "Six pays ont décidé de vivre ensemble" est interprété sous forme de texte lumineux projeté sur un tableau et rappelant par sa teneur la réalisation de l'intégration européenne.

L'on trouve aussi, au premier étage, des maquettes rappelant les origines européennes, la Bible imprimée par Gutenberg, deux magnifiques dioramas sur la Guerre et la Paix, de Max Ingrand, "la bibliothèque d'un jeune couple canadien de langue française", "la bibliothèque d'un couple canadien ou américain de langue anglaise"; "la bibliothèque d'un couple européen" et une discothèque comportant 150 disques de musique européenne, classique et moderne, choisis avec soin.

© Expo67 - Rapport Général