Back - List of Pavilions

Czechoslovakia -

Czechoslovakia at the Exhibition Expo Montreal 1967
Architect(s) : Miroslav Repa, Vladimir Pycha

The architecture of the Czechoslovakia pavilion is remarkably simple in line. A wall of tinted glass forms a large part of the walls on the ground floor, and glazed ceramic panels serve as walls on the upper floor.

Inside, in the Hall of Centuries, one can admire treasures from antiquity, including the Venus Vestonice carved twenty thousand years ago, gold and silver jewellery from the great Moravian Empire, Romanesque frescoes, the crown of St. Wenceslas, King of Bohemia, pieces from the Gothic period, manuscripts, paintings, works from the Renaissance, etc. In the Tradition section, crystal and works of the great master glass and ceramics makers are offered to the admiration of the visitors.

The enchanted garden and the puppets of the famous decorator Jiri Trnka are a delight for young and old. Not far away, a unique cot with two thousand figures and objects, three hundred of which come to life. This masterpiece evokes both the Bible and everyday life.

The presence of technology is particularly noticeable in the Polyvision and Diapoly-screen, where the most daring audio-visual and cinematographic techniques are used.

The Inspiration section exhibits works by the great Czechoslovak designers and precious jewellery, while the Conflicts section deals with the distressing problems of today: overpopulation and air and water pollution. The Invitation section shows the visitor the beautiful landscapes and the many attractive aspects of Czechoslovakia.

A cinema - the Kineautomat - presents a unique show. The film unfolds as usual when the main actor asks the audience to decide the end of the story themselves.

The Czechoslovakia pavilion has four large restaurants where the gourmet can enjoy the country's specialities.

© Expo67 - General Report

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Tchécoslovaquie


Tchécoslovaquie à l'exposition de Montréal 1967

Architecte(s) : Miroslav Repa, Vladimir Pycha

L'architecture du pavillon de la Tchécoslovaquie est d'une remarquable simplicité de lignes. Une paroi de verre teinté constitue une bonne partie des murs du rez-de-chaussée, et des panneaux de céramique vitrifiée servent de murs a l'étage.

A l'intérieur, dans la salle des Siècles, on peut admirer des trésors de l'antiquité, entre autres la Vénus Vestonice sculptée il y a vingt mille ans, des bijoux d'or et d'argent du grand empire morave, des fresques romanes, la couronne de saint Wenceslas, roi de Bohême, des pièces de la période gothique, des manuscrits, des tableaux, des oeuvres de la renaissance, etc. Au secteur Tradition, les cristaux et oeuvres des grands maîtres-verriers et des grands céramistes sont offerts a l'admiration des visiteurs.

Le jardin enchanté et les marionnettes du célèbre décorateur Jiri Trnka font la joie de tous, petits et grands. Non loin, une crèche unique en son genre, groupe deux mille personnages et objets, dont trois cents s'animent. Ce chef d'oeuvre évoque a la fois la Bible et la vie quotidienne.

La présence de la technologie se fait particulièrement sentir grâce a la Polyvision et au Diapolyécran, ou l'on utilise les techniques audio-visuelles et cinématographiques les plus audacieuses.

Le secteur Inspiration expose les oeuvres des grands couturiers tchécoslovaques et des bijoux précieux, tandis que le secteur Conflits aborde d'angoissants problèmes actuels: la surpopulation et la pollution de l'air et de l'eau. Le secteur Invitation fait voir au visiteur les beaux paysages et les mille aspects séduisants de la Tchécoslovaquie.

Une salle de cinéma - le Kinéautomate - présente un spectacle unique en son genre. Le film se déroule comme a l'accoutumée quand l'acteur principal demande aux spectateurs de décider eux-mêmes de la fin de l'histoire.

Le pavillon de la Tchécoslovaquie comprend quatre grands restaurants où le gourmet peut se délecter des spécialités du pays.

© Expo67 - Rapport Général