World and International Exhibition Montreal 1967 - Expo67

Man and his Universe

April 28, 1967 - October 29, 1967


Back - List of Pavilions

Italy

Italy at the Exhibition Montreal 1967

© expo67

Architect(s) : MM. C. Argan, G. Franci, V., F. & L Passarelli, B. Zevi

The Italian pavilion is distinguished by its simple, clean lines. Its large white sail-like roof rises ten feet from the ground and gently slopes upwards. Three sculptures decorate the roof: a bronze sphere, a ceramic and a steel composition. They announce and symbolize the three exhibition sectors of the pavilion, each of which has a different architectural design and is independent of the others and of the roof that covers it.

The first sector illustrates the values of the Italian artistic tradition. Lyricism and the search for refined detail are the dominant features. The ensemble is dominated by "Atys", a magnificent bronze by Donatello.

The second sector is devoted to the Italian way of life and its evolution over the centuries. It presents a particular way of looking at life and death, family life and life in the city, where the public square plays a predominant role. It is a sort of immense sculpture where the objects on display blend harmoniously with the plastered cement walls and floor. A bar with a terrace and a restaurant serving specialities from the various regions of the country and wines from the best vintages are integrated into this area.

Italy's place in industrial and technological civilisation is illustrated in the last area: progress. The contribution of Italians to modern science and technology is highlighted, in particular through the importance given to aesthetics in the design of the objects on display - note the highly sophisticated robot, Mascot I, used at the Italian Nuclear Energy Centre.

The three sectors of the pavilion are connected by a corridor, called the path. In this corridor, pictorial compositions on glass plates are projected in all directions, drawing the visitor into a whirlwind of images and light.

© Expo67 - General Report

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Italie


Italie à l'exposition de Montréal 1967

© expo67
Architecte(s) : MM. C. Argan, G. Franci, V., F. & L Passarelli, B. Zevi

Le pavillon de l'Italie se distingue par ses lignes simples et nettes. Son grand toit blanc en forme de voile prend naissance à une dizaine de pieds du sol et s'élance avec douceur vers le ciel. Trois sculptures décorent ce toit: une sphère de bronze, une céramique et une composition en acier. Elles annoncent et symbolisent les trois secteurs d'exposition du pavillon, qui répondent chacun a une conception architecturale différente et sont indépendants les uns des autres, de même que du toit qui les recouvre.

Le premier secteur illustre les valeurs de la tradition artistique italienne. Le lyrisme et la recherche du détail raffiné en constituent les traits dominants. L'ensemble est dominé par "Atys", magnifique bronze de Donatello.

Le deuxième secteur est consacré au mode de vie des Italiens et à son évolution au cours des siècles. Il présente une façon particulière d'envisager la vie et la mort, la vie de famille et la vie dans la cité, ou la place publique joue un rôle prépondérant. C'est une sorte d'immense sculpture où les objets exposés s'allient harmonieusement aux murs et au sol en ciment crépi. A ce secteur, s'intègrent un bar avec terrasse et un restaurant ou l'on sert les spécialités des diverses régions du pays et des vins des meilleurs crus.

La place de l'Italie dans la civilisation industrielle et technologique est illustrée dans le dernier secteur: le progrès. On y souligne la contribution des Italiens a la science et a la technique modernes, en particulier par l'importance accordée à l'esthétique dans la conception des objets présentés-, notons un robot très perfectionné, Mascot I, utilisé au Centre italien de l'énergie nucléaire.

Les trois secteurs du pavillon sont reliés entre eux par un couloir, appelé le parcours. Dans ce couloir, des compositions picturales sur plaques de verre sont projetées dans toutes les directions, entraînant le visiteur dans un tourbillon d'images et de lumière.

© Expo67 - Rapport Général