Back - List of Pavilions

Trinidad & Tobago and Grenada -

Trinidad & Tobago and Grenada at the Exhibition Expo Montreal 1967
© expo67
Architect(s) : Peter Bynoe & F. A. Dawson

The pavilion common to the Trinidad and Tobago and Grenada participations is made of steel, wood and painted canvas; the roof, formed by four paraboloids of equal dimensions, was designed to express the harmony and cultural diversity that exists within the four most important human groups of these fies; the African group, the Far Eastern group, the Indian and Pakistani group and the European group.

On the upper floor of the pavilion there is a theatre for 80 performers and 250 spectators. The performances reflect the theme of the pavilion: "Bacchanal". Visitors can watch dance performances and listen to traditional folk songs from Trinidad and Tobago, the home of steelbands, calypsos and limbos.

On the ground floor, the exhibits consist of historical documents, paintings, sculptures and other art objects, as well as rich carnival clothing. Granada, the "flower of the spices", presents in an attractive way the various stages of its economic expansion. In a bar overlooking the lagoon, you can enjoy the drinks of the islands to the sound of the steelband on a pontoon.

© Expo67 - General Report

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Trinidad & Tobago et Grenade


Trinidad & Tobago et Grenade à l'exposition de Montréal 1967

© expo67
Architecte(s) : Peter Bynoe & F. A. Dawson

Le pavillon commun aux participations de Trinidad et Tobago et de Grenade est fait d'acier, de bois et de toile peinte; le toit, formé de quatre paraboloïdes d'égales dimensions, a été conçu pour exprimer l'harmonie et la diversité culturelle qui existent au sein des quatre groupes humains les plus importants de ces fies; le groupe africain, le groupe originaire d'Extrême-Orient, le groupe originaire de l'Inde et du Pakistan et le groupe européen.

A l'étage supérieur du pavillon, se trouve un théâtre pouvant contenir 80 artistes et 250 spectateurs. Les spectacles illustrent le thème du pavillon: "Bacchanale". Les visiteurs peuvent assister a des spectacles de danse et écouter des chants folkloriques traditionnels de Trinidad et Tobago, terre d'élection des steelbands, des calypsos et des limbos.

Au rez-de-chaussée, les éléments d'exposition consistent en documents historiques, peintures, sculptures et autres objets d'art, ainsi qu'en riches vêtements de carnaval. Grenade, "l'fle des épi ces", présente de façon attrayante les diverses étapes de son expansion économique . Dans un bar qui donne sur la lagune, on peut consommer les boissons de ces îles au son du steelband installé sur un ponton .

© Expo67 - Rapport Général