World and International Exhibition Montreal 1967 - Expo67

Man and his Universe

April 28, 1967 - October 29, 1967


Back - List of Pavilions

Israel

Israel at the Exhibition Montreal 1967

© expo67

Architect(s) : A. Sharon, D. Reznik & E. Sharon

The Israel Pavilion is a testament to the courage and dynamism of a people who, after two thousand years of adversity, succeeded in rebuilding a homeland in the land of their ancestors.

The pavilion is surrounded by a garden reminiscent of certain biblical landscapes. The walls are windowless and are made up of a series of cleverly arranged cubes. The geometrically shaped roof is designed to let light into the upper part of the building.

The interior of the building is divided into several rooms that illustrate the history of the Jewish people from the time of the prophets to the present day. In addition, there is a restaurant and a 350-seat auditorium where films and performances are shown.

At the entrance to the pavilion, an archaeological exhibition, which includes one of the Dead Sea Scrolls, evokes the land that was the cradle of Jewish civilisation. A monumental fresco describes the exile and the nostalgia for Zion. This is followed by a room showing the settlement efforts of the first pioneers at the beginning of the present century.

After a reminder, in a darkened room, of the extermination of the Jews under the Nazi regime, a brightly lit room evokes the second birth of Israel. The rest of the pavilion illustrates the building of the new state, the prodigious rise of its people and its astonishing achievements: the conquest of the desert, the renaissance of the Hebrew language, the rapid development of agriculture, transport and industry, etc. . It also highlights the ideals that animate the people of Israel and the dynamism of its youth.

A final room is devoted to the country's beauty, its historical riches, its arts and crafts. Several Israeli products are displayed, including books, stamps and records.

© Expo67 - General Report

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Israël


Israël à l'exposition de Montréal 1967

© expo67
Architecte(s) : A. Sharon, D. Reznik & E. Sharon

Le pavillon d'Israël témoigne du courage et du dynamisme d'un peuple qui, après deux mille ans d'adversité, a réussi à se rebâtir une patrie sur la terre de ses ancêtres.

Le pavillon est entouré d'un jardin rappelant certains paysages bibliques. Sans fenêtre, les murs sont constitués d'un ensemble de cubes habilement agencés. Le toit aux formes géométriques a été conçu de manière a laisser pénétrer la lumière dans la partie supérieure de l'édifice.

L'intérieur de celui-ci se divise en plusieurs salles qui illustrent l'histoire du peuple juif depuis le temps des prophètes jusqu'à nos jours. Il comprend, de plus, un restaurant et un auditorium de 350 places où l'on présente des films et des spectacles.

A l'entrée du pavillon, une exposition archéologique, où l'on peut voir un des manuscrits de la mer Morte, évoque la terre qui fut le berceau de la civilisation juive. Une fresque monumentale décrit l'exil et la nostalgie de Sion. Suit une salle où l'on montre les efforts de colonisation des premiers pionniers, au début du siècle actuel.

Après un rappel, dans une pièce sombre, de l'extermination des Juifs sous le régime nazi, une salle brillamment éclairée évoque la seconde naissance d'Israël. Le reste du pavillon illustre l'édification du nouvel Etat, l'essor prodigieux de son peuple et ses étonnantes réalisations: conquête du désert, renaissance de la langue hébraïque, développement rapide de l'agriculture, du transport et de l'industrie, etc. . . On y souligne aussi les idéaux qui animent le peuple d'Israël et le dynamisme de sa jeunesse.

Une dernière salle est consacrée aux beautés du pays, a ses richesses historiques, à son art et à son artisanat. Plusieurs produits israéliens sont exposés, dont des livres, des timbres et des disques.

© Expo67 - Rapport Général