World and International Exhibition Montreal 1967 - Expo67

Man and his Universe

April 28, 1967 - October 29, 1967


Back - List of Pavilions

France

France at the Exhibition Expo Montreal 1967

© expo67

Architect(s) : J. Faugeron

The circular French pavilion is a monument of concrete, glass and aluminium, around which a set of sunbreaking slats ensures a large sculptural effect, opening up new possibilities for users of modern materials who seek to escape the constraints of the rectilinear edge. The diversity of forms offered by the facade means that, as you walk around it, you discover a new image and new perspectives at every step. The theme of the presentations is Tradition and Invention.

The pavilion has nine levels. In the void in the centre of the building, a six-minute musical performance, Xénakis's Polytope, accompanies the projection of colour slides of crystal formation taken with a polarising interference microscope.

On the ground floor, the various aspects of the voyages to France are on display; among the exhibits are two models of the "France". A cinema room allows visitors to watch a retrospective of French cinema. A conference room can accommodate 80 people. The pool on the ground floor is surrounded by luminous water features and in the centre, on a floating stage, various shows are presented.

The ground floor is reserved for major technical achievements: an animated model of the Eole project; an animated model of the Chantreine Saint-Gobain glass factory; a Plexiglas model of the supersonic Concorde aircraft; a model of the air cushion train, and other major French achievements.

On the ground floor, the City of Paris presents a colour film, a Left Bank sector, art crafts, haute couture, jewellery and perfumes.

The first floor is devoted to the most modern techniques of energy release and transmissions. The electricity of France presents the tidal plant of Rance and the Bulbe groups; the atomic energy presents the animated and sound model of the Osiris reactor; the oil and gas sector presents the model of the Jules Verne, the LNG port of Le Havre, etc, In the "Transmissions" sector, the links "through space" are presented: satellite communications; echo suppressor; ionospheric sounder; images of the French telecommunications network; the application of lasers to telecommunications; a luminous map of France and a philatelic sector.

The third floor, devoted to science and its discoveries, is divided into seven sections: oceanography, vulcanology, biology, chemistry, optics, solid state physics and space physics. The Paris Observatory presents Professor Lallemand's electronic camera.

Land use planning is the theme of the fourth floor. It includes a Sound and Light show on a model of the Château de Chambord, a large map of France, eight cinema rooms showing films on life in France, and a model of the development of Languedoc-Roussillon.

The fifth floor is the arts floor. There are paintings, sculptures, silverware, stained glass windows, capitals and religious treasures from the Romanesque period to the present day. In the creative arts section, the most important artists of contemporary art are presented, as well as art and creative crafts, a book exhibition and a literary museum where you can find manuscripts, photos, unpublished pages, first editions, personal objects, etc. The voices of 80 French writers can be heard.

On the upper level, a museum of Franco-Canadian friendships, from Jacques Cartier to Chateaubriand, presents 165 documents or various objects.

The pavilion has a restaurant, a brasserie and a Parisian café where visitors can taste the gastronomic specialties of France.


PARIS

On the ground floor of the French pavilion, the City of Paris has reserved a large area for its own participation.

A colour film - the work of François Reichenbach - takes the visitor on a walk through the City of Light. Projected simultaneously on four large screens, the film shows the Eiffel Tower, the Palais de Chaillot, the Opera, the Place de la Concorde, Notre-Dame, the Arc de Triomphe de l'Etoile, Montmartre and Montparnasse.

The left bank sector presents Saint-Germain-de s -prés, the Latin Quarter, the Institut de France, the Sorbonne, the grandes écoles, an environment influenced by art and thought, an environment of student fervour.

Crossing the Seine, one enters the Paris of elegance: rue de la Paix, Place Vendôme, rue Saint-Honoré, Champs-Elysées. Prismatic windows serve and present the original presentation of Parisian boutiques.

Further on, overlooking the lagoon, the Café de Paris and its terrace welcome the visitor.

The visitor has had the opportunity to admire and see the evolution of Paris, a thousand-year-old city. Now, for the first time, they are shown the daring projects that French architects and builders designed for the Paris of the year 2000.

© Expo67 - General Report

Retour - Liste Pavillons

France


France à l'exposition de Montréal 1967

© expo67
Architecte(s) : J. Faugeron

Le pavillon de la France, de forme circulaire, est un monument de béton, de verre et d'aluminium, autour duquel un jeu de lames brise-soleil assure un effet de grande sculpture, ouvrant des possibilités nouvelles aux utilisateurs de matériaux modernes qui cherchent à échapper aux servitudes de l'arête rectiligne. La diversité des formes offertes par la façade permet, lorsqu'on en fait le tour, de découvrir a chaque pas une image et des perspectives nouvelles. Le thème des présentations est Tradition et Invention.

Le pavillon comporte neuf niveaux. Dans le vide, au centre du bâtiment, un spectacle musical de six minutes, le polytope de Xénakis, accompagne les projections de diapositives, couleur de formation de cristaux, prises au microscope interférentiel à polarisation.

Au rez-de-lagune sont exposés les différents aspects des voyages en France; parmi les éléments d'exposition, on remarque deux maquettes du "France". Une salle de cinéma permet d'assister une rétrospective du cinéma français. Une salle de conférences peut recevoir 80 personnes. Le bassin du rez-de-lagune est entouré de jeux d'eaux lumineux et au centre, sur un plateau scénique flottant, sont présentés divers spectacles.

Le rez-de-chaussée est réservé aux grandes réalisations techniques: maquette animée du projet Eole; maquette animée de l'usine de fabrication de verre Chantreine Saint-Gobain; maquette en plexiglas de l'avion supersonique Concorde; maquette de l'aérotrain utilisant la technique des coussins d'air, et autres grandes réalisations françaises.

Au rez-de-chaussée, la Ville de Paris présente un film en couleur, un secteur rive gauche, les métiers d'art, la haute couture, les bijoux, les parfums.

Le premier étage est consacré aux techniques les plus modernes de libération de l'énergie et de transmissions. L'électricité de France présente l'usine marémotrice de la Rance et les groupes Bulbe; l'énergie atomique présente la maquette animée et sonorisée du réacteur Osiris; le secteur pétrole et gaz présente la maquette du Jules Verne, le port Méthanier du Havre, etc., Dans le secteur "Transmissions", on présente les liaisons "a travers l'espace: communications par satellites; suppresseur d'écho; sondeur ionosphérique ; les images du réseau français de télécommunication; l'application des lasers aux télécommunications; une carte lumineuse de la France et un secteur philatélique.

Le troisième étage, consacré à la science et à ses découvertes, est divisé en sept sections: océanographie, vulcanologie, biologie, chimie, optique, physique du solide, physique spatiale. L'observatoire de Paris y présente la caméra électronique du professeur Lallemand.

L'aménagement du territoire est le thème du quatrième étage. Il comprend un spectacle Son et Lumière sur une maquette du château de Chambord, une grande carte de France, huit salles de cinéma présentant des films de la vie en France, une maquette de l'aménagement du Languedoc-Roussillon.

Le cinquième étage est celui des arts. On y trouve des peintures, des sculptures, des pièces d'orfèvrerie, des vitraux, des chapiteaux, des trésors religieux de l'art roman a nos jours. Au secteur création artistique sont présentés les plus grands martres de l'art contemporain ainsi que les métiers d'art et de création, une exposition de livres et un musée littéraire ou se trouvent des manuscrits, des photos, des pages inédites, des éditions originales, des objets personnels, etc.. On peut entendre la voix de 80 écrivains français.

Au niveau supérieur, un musée des amitiés franco-canadienne s, de Jacques Cartier à Chateaubriand, présente 165 documents ou objets divers.

Le pavillon possède un restaurant, une brasserie et un café parisien où le visiteur peut déguster les spécialités gastronomiques de la France.


PARIS

Au rez-de-lagune du pavillon de la France, la Ville de Paris s'est réservé un vaste secteur pour sa participation autonome.

Un film en couleur - oeuvre de François Reichenbach -accompagne le visiteur dans une promenade ci travers la Ville Lumière. Projetée simultanément sur quatre grands écrans, cette bande fait voir la tour Eiffel, le palais de Chaillot, l'Opéra, la Place de la Concorde, Notre-Dame, l'arc de triomphe de l'Etoile, en passant par Montmartre et Montparnasse.

Le secteur rive gauche présente Saint-Germain-de s -prés, le Quartier latin, l'Institut de France, la Sorbonne, les grandes écoles, milieu influencé par l'art et la pensée, milieu des ferveurs étudiantes.

En traversant la Seine, on pénètre dans le Paris de l'élégance: rue de la Paix, Place Vendôme, rue Saint-Honoré, Champs-Elysées. Des vitrines prismatiques servent et. cette présentation originale des boutiques parisiennes.

Plus loin, et donnant sur la lagune, le Café de Paris et sa terrasse accueillent le visiteur.

Celui-ci a eu l'occasion d'admirer et de voir évoluer Paris, ville millénaire. Il se voit maintenant révéler, pour la première fois dans leur ensemble, les audacieux projets qu'architectes et constructeurs français ont conçus à l'intention du Paris de l'an 2,000.

© Expo67 - Rapport Général