World and International Exhibition Montreal 1967 - Expo67

Man and his Universe

April 28, 1967 - October 29, 1967


Back - List of Pavilions

Yugoslavia

Yugoslavia at the Exhibition Montreal 1967

Architect(s) : Miroslav Pesic

Yugoslavia came to Expo 67 with its two alphabets, three languages, four religions, five nationalities and six republics.

The pavilion, a building made up of seven triangular prisms balanced in a rhythmic way, presents, through its exhibition elements, four main themes: Yugoslav culture, the role of Yugoslavia in the world, the economy and tourism, the political and social organisation of Yugoslavia.

Yugoslavia is a country of contrasts, which can be seen in its history, population and landscape. Visitors see all this illustrated in a 70-seat theatre, during concerts and folklore performances. They see it in the art objects, in the retrospectives on the achievements of the Yugoslav army, in the presentations on modern industry, etc. Is there much to look at? There are swivel chairs in all the exhibition halls, so that visitors can choose the presentation that interests them most.

The pavilion contains priceless treasures, including objects from the Polished Stone Age, originals and reproductions of frescoes from the 10th, 11th and 10th centuries. There are displays on the medieval and feudal kingdoms of Serbia, Croatia and Slovenia, as well as the independent republic of Dubrovnik.

Modern art is not forgotten: original paintings by Yugoslav artists of all schools are exhibited. A presentation shows the achievements of modern industry. There are models of factories under construction. There is also a model of the Djerdan hydroelectric power station, one of the largest in Europe, built under the cooperation agreement between Yugoslavia and Romania. There are also statistical tables on industrial production. At the terrace bar, the visitor can taste special Yugoslavian drinks.

© Expo67 - General Report

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Yougoslavie


Yougoslavie à l'exposition de Montréal 1967

Architecte(s) : Miroslav Pesic

La Yougoslavie est venue à l'Expo 67 avec ses deux alphabets, ses trois langues, ses quatre religions, ses cinq nationalités, ses six républiques.

Le pavillon, bâtiment composé de sept prismes triangulaires équilibrés de façon rythmique, présente, par ses éléments d'exposition, quatre thèmes principaux: la culture yougoslave, le rôle de la Yougoslavie dans le monde, l'économie et le tourisme, l'organisation politique et sociale de la Yougoslavie.

Celle-ci est un pays de contrastes qui se manifestent dans son histoire, sa population et ses paysages. Les visiteurs voient tout cela illustré dans un théâtre de 70 places, au cours de concerts et de spectacles folkloriques. Ils le voient dans les objets d'art, dans les rétrospectives sur les hauts faits de l'armée yougoslave, dans les présentations sur l'industrie moderne, etc. Il y a beaucoup à regarder? Qu'a cela ne tienne: des chaises pivotantes sont réparties dans toutes les salles d'exposition, pour permettre aux visiteurs de choisir la présentation qui les intéresse le plus.

Le pavillon renferme des trésors d'une valeur inestimable, entre autres, des objets datant de l'âge de la pierre polie, des originaux et des reproductions de fresques des Xle, Xlle et XMe siècles. Des présentations sont consacrées aux royaumes médiévaux et féodaux de Serbie, de Croatie et de Slovénie, ainsi qu'a la république indépendante de Dubrovnik.

L'art moderne n'est pas oublié: on expose des toiles originales de peintres yougoslaves appartenant a toutes les écoles. Une présentation fait connaître les réalisations de l'industrie moderne. Des maquettes représentent des usines en construction. On expose également une maquette de la centrale hydro-électrique de Djerdan, l'une des plus grandes d'Europe, réalisée dans le cadre de l'accord de coopération entre la Yougoslavie et la Roumanie. Il y a en outre des tableaux statistiques sur la production industrielle. Au bar-terrasse, le visiteur peut déguster les boissons spéciales à la Yougoslavie.

© Expo67 - Rapport Général