World and International Exhibition Montreal 1967 - Expo67

Man and his Universe

April 28, 1967 - October 29, 1967


Back - List of Pavilions

Mauritius

Mauritius at the Exhibition Montreal 1967

© expo67

Architect(s) : Boullé, Lagesse, Schaub & Partners

The Mauritius pavilion is tent-like and covered in fibreglass.

At the entrance, there is a cartographic model of the island, mounted on a circular base 12 feet in diameter and a kaleidoscopic assemblage of photographs and illustrations.

Mauritius is a unique anthropological segment in the world, given the Dutch, French and English occupations as well as the African, European, Indian and Chinese contributions, which have blended over the centuries into an exceptional symbiosis of habits and traditions.

The visitor can see the numerous achievements of the citizens of Mauritius, which justify the sentence of the Mauritian novelist, Marcelle Lagesse, engraved on the pavilion's portal: "Look what we have done in two and a half centuries, from a land without men, lost in the Indian sea. The courage and tenacity of the discoverers of the land have woven its history, the patience of its sons has fixed its destiny.

The exhibition focuses on the country's development in the field of culture, art and tourism, as well as on the sugar industry, the island's main resource.

Among the main elements of the exhibition, a wood sculpture eloquently alludes to the theme of Man and His World. It depicts man struggling with an uncultivated land that is only gradually subdued and only matures through hard work and skill.

In the nature section, the visitor can admire a 1,100 pound blue swordfish (world record) caught in 1966 off the coast of Mauritius, a wonderful collection of shells as well as skeletons and reconstructions of fantastic birds (such as the dodo) that once lived in this country that was once called Isle de France. He also admires the numerous samples of handicrafts: jewellery, cabinet making, objects made from horn and tortoise shell.

© Expo67 - General Report

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Ile Maurice


Ile Maurice à l'exposition de Montréal 1967

© expo67
Architecte(s) : Boullé, Lagesse, Schaub & Partners

Le pavillon de l'ile Maurice est en forme de tente et il est recouvert en fibre de verre.

A l'entrée, se trouve une maquette cartographique de l'île, montée sur un socle circulaire de 12 pieds de diamètre et un assemblage kaléidoscopique de photographies et d'illustrations.

L'ile Maurice constitue un segment anthropologique unique au monde, étant donné les occupations hollandaise, française et anglaise ainsi que les apports africain, européen, indien et chinois, qui se sont fondus au cours des siècles en une exceptionnelle symbiose d'habitudes et de traditions.

Le visiteur peut voir les nombreuses réalisations des citoyens de l'Ile Maurice, qui justifient la phrase de la romancière mauricienne, Marcelle Lagesse, gravée sur le portail du pavillon: "Voyez ce que nous avons fait en deux siècles et demi, d'une terre sans hommes, perdue dans la mer Indienne. Le courage et la ténacité des découvreurs de terres ont tissé son histoire, la patience de ses fils a fixé son destin".

L'exposition porte surtout sur l'évolution du pays dans le domaine de la culture, de l'art et du tourisme, ainsi que sur l'industrie sucriere, principale ressource de l'ile.

Parmi les principaux éléments d'exposition, une sculpture sur bois fait une éloquente allusion au thème Terre des Hommes. Elle représente l'homme aux prises avec une terre inculte qui ne se soumet que petit à petit et ne se mate qu'a force de travail acharné et de savoir-faire.

Au secteur consacré à. la nature, le visiteur admire un espadon bleu de 1,100 livres (record mondial) harponné en 1966 au large de l'ile Maurice, une merveilleuse collection de coquillages ainsi que des squelettes et des reconstitutions d'oiseaux fantastiques (comme le dodo) qui vivaient jadis en ce pays qui a déjà porté le nom d'Isle de France. Il admire également les nombreux échantillons d'artisanat: bijouterie, ébénisterie, objets façonnés dans la corne et l'écaillé de tortue.

© Expo67 - Rapport Général