Back - List of Pavilions

Ontario - Expo Montreal 1967

Ontario at the Exhibition Expo Montreal 1967
© expo67
Architect(s) : Fairfield & Dubois

The Ontario pavilion is a bold and elegant design that evokes the forms of a tent with multiple pyramidal figures. Covering an area of two and a half acres (one hectare) and reaching a height of 90 feet (almost 28 metres) at its highest point, it is covered by a flexible roof of fibreglass and vinyl on a metal frame.

From the granite-strewn grounds, where a cataract flows, an ascending ramp provides access to the vast western platform, the actual exhibition hall of the Ontario participation.

Enlarged drawings by Ontario children showing their province as they see it with their new eyes, robots conversing and discussing the future of Ontario's youth, a selected piece of music galore, and a montage of objects that are motley but evocative of a spirited and unwise youth, are the first elements of the Ontario pavilion's display.

This is followed by displays highlighting some of the most important milestones in Ontario's history and development and the contribution of industry to the province's progress. Another area is the sculpture gallery, next to which is the large movie theatre, where thousands of visitors have seen a film of exceptional quality: "A Place to Stand".

In the courtyard, the visitor encounters (eleven of them) the Woman Walking, a stainless steel sculpture by the artist Michael Snow.

The pavilion has several restaurants and terraces where one can enjoy the gastronomic specialties of Ontario.

© Expo67 - General Report

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Ontario


Ontario à l'exposition de Montréal 1967

© expo67
Architecte(s) : Fairfield & Dubois

D'un style aussi élégant qu'audacieux, le pavillon de l'Ontario évoque les formes d'une tente composée de multiples figures pyramidales. S'étendant sur une surface de deux acres et demie {un hectare) et atteignant a son point le plus élevé une hauteur de 90 pieds (près de 28 mètres), il est recouvert d'une toiture souple, en fibre de verre et en vinyle, reposant sur une ossature métallique.

Du terrain jonché de blocs de granit ou déferle une cataracte, une rampe ascendante donne accès a la vaste plate-forme ouest située la salle d'exposition proprement dite de la participation ontarienne.

Des dessins agrandis, exécutés par des enfants ontariens et montrant leur province telle qu'ils la voient avec leurs yeux tout neufs, des robots conversant et discutant de l'avenir des jeunes Ontariens, une pièce choisie de musique à. gogo et un montage d'objets hétéroclites mais évoquant une jeunesse fougueuse et peu sage, constituent les premiers éléments d'exposition du pavillon de l'Ontario.

Viennent ensuite des présentations soulignant certaines des plus importantes étapes de l'histoire et de l'évolution de l'Ontario et l'apport de l'industrie au progrès de la province. Un autre secteur consiste en une galerie de sculptures, auprès de laquelle est située la grande salle de cinéma, où des milliers de visiteurs ont admiré une oeuvre cinématographique d'une qualité exceptionnelle: "A Place to Stand".

Dans la cour, le visiteur rencontre (en onze exemplaires) la Femme déambulant, sculpture sur acier inoxydable de l'artiste Michael Snow.

Le pavillon possède plusieurs restaurants et terrasses ou l'on peut se délecter des spécialités gastronomiques de l'Ontario.

© Expo67 - Rapport Général