World and International Exhibition Montreal 1967 - Expo67

Man and his Universe

April 28, 1967 - October 29, 1967


Back - List of Pavilions

Canada

Canada at the Exhibition Expo Montreal 1967

© expo67

Architect(s) : Ashworth, Robbie, Vaughan & Willains; Scheler & Barkham; A. Mathew Stankiewicz

The central and main feature of the Canadian pavilion is called Katimavik, an Eskimo word meaning "meeting place".

It is an inverted pyramid, 108 and a half feet high, whose four sides, inclined at 30 degrees to the interior surface, support exhibits symbolizing the conquests of universal man over time, space, nature and himself.

At its summit, the Katimavik is surrounded by a 768-foot walkway, which can be accessed by means of stairs built into three of the four inner corners of the pyramid. An inclined lift occupies the fourth corner.

Beneath the base of Katimavik, Canada's political and socio-economic growth is dramatically illustrated on five screens in a rotating cinema. Without having to move, some 2,280 people per hour are transported from the first to the fifth theatre, through 400 years of history.

From a distance, the Canadian Tree looks like a maple tree that nature has adorned in its most beautiful autumn colour. The stylized tree is made of laminated wood and is as tall as a six-story building. Two spiral ramps cut into platforms allow up to 300 people at a time to walk through its foliage. It is made up of some 1,500 three-by-five foot nylon panels, 500 of which are photographs of Canadians in their various occupations.

As you can see, all the displays in the Canada pavilion are related to the general theme of Expo, Man and His World, with the emphasis sometimes on the universal man, sometimes on the Canadian people in the face of obstacles, conflicts, victories, or the environment and setting in which they live.

The fourteen pyramidal roofs surrounding the base of the Katimavik house three large sectors: Resources and Energy, Transportation and Communications, and New Times.

The Canada pavilion has not forgotten the youngest visitors to Expo 67; an entire sector of the pavilion is devoted to children aged three to eleven.

Further on, the Foyer of the Arts, which includes a 500-seat theatre, two libraries and two art galleries, presents the best Canadian artists in classical and popular song, instrumental music and dance, as well as the witty magazine Katimavik. In addition, the Art Foyer features some 50 paintings by Canadian artists, watercolours, graphics, photographs by Karsh, crafts and some works by Canadian sculptors.

The two restaurants in the Canada Pavilion, La Toundra and The Buffet, offer visitors an unusual visual and culinary experience. There are also two snack bars on the terraces.

On a pond at the edge of the pavilion's gardens, not far from the lagoon where the fearsome two-headed steel monster Uki plays, a water show illustrates the fierce battle between man and ice on the country's rivers and coastal waters every winter. Every hour, a miniature icebreaker of about seven feet comes to the rescue of a fifteen-foot cargo ship apparently trapped in the enemy element. A service vessel then picks up a defective buoy and replaces it with a good one.

© Expo67 - General Report

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Canada


Canada à l'exposition de Montréal 1967

© expo67
Architecte(s) : Ashworth, Robbie, Vaughan & Willains; Scheler & Barkham; A. Mathew Stankiewicz

Le point central et principal du pavillon du Canada se nomme Katimavik, mot esquimau qui signifie "lieu de réunion".

Il s'agit d'une pyramide renversée, d'une hauteur de 108 pieds et demi, dont les quatre s pans, inclinés a 30 degrés, de la surface intérieure, soutiennent des éléments d'exposition symbolisant les conquêtes de l'homme universel sur le temps, l'espace, la nature et lui-même.

A son sommet, le Katimavik est ceinturé d'une promenade de 768 pieds, a laquelle on peut accéder au moyen d'escaliers construits dans trois des quatre angles intérieurs de la pyramide. Un ascenseur incliné occupe le quatrième angle.

Sous le socle du Katimavik, la croissance politique et socio-économique du Canada est illustrée de façon spectaculaire sur les cinq écrans d'un cinéma tournant. Sans avoir a se déplacer, quelque 2,280 personnes a l'heure sont transportées de la première a la cinquième salle du cinéma, a travers 400 ans d'histoire.

De loin, l'Arbre des Canadiens ressemble à un érable que la nature a paré de son plus beau coloris automnal. Cet arbre stylisé est fait de bois laminé et sa hauteur atteint celle d'un immeuble de six étages. Deux rampes en spirales coupées de plate s-forme s permettent a 300 personnes a la fois de se promener dans son feuillage. Celui-ci est constitué de quelque 1,500 panneaux de nylon de trois pieds par cinq, dont 500 comportent des photographies représentant les Canadiens dans leurs diverses occupations.

On l'aura constaté, toutes les présentations du pavillon du Canada sont reliées au thème général de l'Expo, Terre des Hommes, l'accent portant tantôt sur l'homme universel, tantôt sur le peuple canadien face aux obstacles, aux conflits, aux victoires ou face au milieu et au cadre dans lesquels il vit.

Les quatorze toits pyramidaux qui entourent la base du Katimavik abritent trois vastes secteurs intitulés: Ressources et énergie, Transports et communications et Temps nouveaux.

Le pavillon du Canada n'a pas oublié les plus jeunes visiteurs de l'Expo 67; tout un secteur du pavillon est consacré aux enfants de trois a onze ans.

Plus loin, le Foyer des arts, qui comprend un théâtre de 500 places, deux bibliothèques et deux galeries d'art, présente les meilleurs artistes canadiens dans le domaine du chant classique et populaire, de la musique instrumentale et de la danse, ainsi que la très spirituelle revue Katimavik. De plus, on peut admirer, au Foyer des arts, une cinquantaine de toiles de peintres canadiens, des aquarelles, des oeuvres graphiques, des photographies de Karsh, ainsi que des pièces d'artisanat et quelques oeuvres de sculpteurs canadiens.

Les deux restaurants du pavillon du Canada, La Toundra et The Buffet, réservent aux visiteurs une aventure visuelle et culinaire inusitée. Il y a également deux casse-croûte sur les terrasses.

Sur un étang situé en bordure des jardins du pavillon, non loin de la lagune où le redoutable monstre d'acier à deux têtes Uki fait des siennes, un spectacle nautique illustre la lutte acharnée que se livrent chaque hiver les hommes et les glaces sur les eaux fluviales et côtières du pays. Toutes les heures, un brise-glace miniature d'environ sept pieds vient au secours d'un cargo d'une quinzaine de pieds apparemment prisonnier de l'élément ennemi. Un navire de service vient ensuite cueillir une bouée défectueuse pour la remplacer par une autre en bon état.

© Expo67 - Rapport Général