World and International Exhibition Montreal 1967 - Expo67

Man and his Universe

April 28, 1967 - October 29, 1967


Back - List of Pavilions

United States of America

United States of America at the Exhibition Expo Montreal 1967

© expo67

Architect(s) : R. Buckminster Fuller, Fuller & Sadao, Inc; Geometrics Inc; Cambridge Seven Associates Inc

The geodesic dome of the United States pavilion is, in itself, the main element of the American participation in Expo 67. Twenty stories high and 250 feet in diameter, it consists of a light metal frame supporting a transparent envelope of tinted acrylite panels.

The visitor first discovers a series of folk art objects, placed to pay tribute to the country's artists. He then moves on to a series of small groups of objects chosen for their striking representation of American creative genius, both ancient and modern. Further on, he saw a group of Indian objects, a collection of ingenious domestic appliances, and an amusing representation of the various types of Americans, their occupations and personalities, through a vast assortment of hats.

An escalator, 135 feet long, takes the visitor to the highest floor, where he is treated to an exciting tour of the American space effort. Up there, hanging from a kind of parachute attached to the top of the sphere, are authentic space vehicles used for American experiments. Further down is a large replica of a patch of lunar soil with life-size space capsules and a team of astronauts in Apollo flight suits.

A host of other life-size and scaled-down devices are suspended at various heights. Television footage of the lunar surface, an assortment of instruments and foodstuffs used by the first men on the moon, large colour slides and accelerated film footage of space flights all contribute to the visitor's sense of escape from the earth.

The four main floors of the geodesic sphere house numerous displays, including an exhibition of modern paintings and objects belonging to film and theatre artists.

The exhibition is complemented by 20-minute colour film screenings of a mosaic of creative America.

© Expo67 - General Report

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Etats-Unis d'Amérique


Etats-Unis d'Amérique à l'exposition de Montréal 1967

© expo67
Architecte(s) : R. Buckminster Fuller, Fuller & Sadao, Inc; Geometrics Inc; Cambridge Seven Associates Inc

Le dôme géodésique du pavillon des Etats-Unis est, en soi, l'élément principal de la participation américaine a l'Expo 67. D'une hauteur de vingt étages et d'un diamètre de 250 pieds, l'ensemble se compose d'un châssis ajouré, de métal léger, supportant une enveloppe transparente constituée de panneaux d'acrylite teintée.

Le visiteur découvre d'abord un ensemble d'objets d'art populaire, placés pour rendre hommage aux artistes du pays. Il se dirige ensuite vers une série de petits groupes d'objets choisis parce qu'ils représentent, de façon frappante, le génie créateur américain ancien et moderne. Plus loin, il aperçoit un ensemble d'objets indiens, une collection d'appareils domestiques fort ingénieux et une amusante représentation des divers types d'américains, de leurs professions et de leur personnalité, par un vaste assortiment de chapeaux.

Un escalier roulant, long de 135 pieds, conduit le visiteur a l'étage le plus élevé, où on le convie a un passionnant tour d'horizon de l'effort américain dans le domaine spatial. Là-haut, sont accrochés à une sorte de parachute fixé au sommet de la sphère, d'authentiques véhicules spatiaux utilisés pour les expériences américaines. Plus bas, se trouve une grande réplique d'un coin de sol lunaire portant des capsules spatiales grandeur nature et une équipe d'astronautes en combinaison de vol Apollo.

Une foule d'autres appareils, grandeur nature ou à l'échelle réduite, sont suspendus à des hauteurs variées. Des images télévisées du sol lunaire, un assortiment d'instruments et de produits alimentaires qu'utiliseront les premiers hommes dans la lune, de grandes diapositives en couleurs et la projection accélérée de films d'envolées spatiales contribuent a donner au visiteur l'impression de s'évader de la terre.

Les quatre principaux étages de la sphère géodésique abritent de nombreuses présentations, entre autres une exposition de peintures modernes et des objets ayant appartenu à des artistes du cinéma et du théâtre.

L'exposition se complète par des projections de films en couleur, d'une durée de 20 minutes, présentant une mosaïque de l'Amérique créatrice.

© Expo67 - Rapport Général