World and International Exhibition Montreal 1967 - Expo67

Man and his Universe

April 28, 1967 - October 29, 1967


Back - List of Pavilions

Telephone Association

Telephone Association at the Exhibition Montreal 1967

© expo67

Architect(s) : David, Barott, Boulva

The Telephone Association of Canada pavilion is a very simple building. It consists of an entrance hall, a cinema and an exhibition hall.

The main attraction is undoubtedly "Canada 67", a film presented using a new cinematographic process developed by Walt Disney Productions in Circle-Vision 360°. This technique is based on the use of nine projectors that reflect the image onto a circular screen, 22 feet high, which completely surrounds the spectators. Circle-Vision 360° requires nine cameras to capture the image at a 40 degree angle. Commentary and atmospheric music are delivered to the auditorium through fifteen stereophonic speakers, nine of which are hidden behind the screen and six on the ceiling. The audience really feels like they are right in the middle of the action.

The film shows various aspects of Canada and Canadian life. You can admire the beautiful landscapes of the Rockies, the Celtic dances of Cape Breton, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police cavalry, the Calgary stampede, the Quebec carnival, a National Hockey League game, etc.

On leaving the cinema, the visitor goes to the exhibition hall where all kinds of amusements are provided. First, on the left, the enchanted forest. In the middle of a forest with gigantic trees and flowers, children perched on huge mushrooms communicate with their favourite cartoon character using a Digitone telephone.

From the world of enchantment, we move on to the world of games, in a section entitled "Telephone Magic". Visitors can test their skills against those of an electronic calculator.

Further on, there is a real panorama of the telephone industry, with the most recent innovations. Thanks to electronic switching, three or more people can talk together on the same telephone line. To illustrate the possibilities of electronic communication and the Digitone keypad, an animated demonstration with houses, department stores and warehouses was created to show how the housewife of the future will be able to do her shopping without leaving the comfort of her home. With the help of a videophone, she will be able to make her choice from home and order directly. Computers will handle delivery and billing. Five booths have been set up where visitors can try out the videophone devices.

In the centre of the pavilion, displays have been set up to showcase telephony-related services such as artificial larynx, power control and emergency telephones.

© Expo67 - General Report

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Association du Téléphone


Association du Téléphone à l'exposition de Montréal 1967

© expo67
Architecte(s) : David, Barott, Boulva

Le pavillon de l'Association du téléphone du Canada est d'architecture très simple. Il comporte un hall d'entrée, un cinéma et une salle d'exposition.

La grande attraction est sans contredit "Canada 67", film, présenté selon un procédé cinématographique nouveau, mis au point par les Productions Walt Disney en Circle-Vision 360°. Cette technique repose sur l'utilisation de neuf projecteurs qui réfléchissent l'image sur un écran circulaire, haut de 22 pieds, qui entoure complètement les spectateurs. La prise de vues en Circle-Vision 360° exige neuf caméras qui captent l'image è. un angle de 40 degrés. Les commentaires et la musique d'atmosphère parviennent dans la salle, au moyen de quinze haut-parleurs stéréophoniques, dont neuf sont dissimulés derrière l'écran et six au plafond. Les spectateurs ont vraiment la sensation d'être plongés en plein cœur de l'action.

Le film montre divers aspects du Canada et de la vie canadienne. On peut admirer les magnifiques paysages des Rocheuses, les danses celtes du Cap Breton, la cavalerie de la Gendarmerie royale, assister au stampede de Calgary, au carnaval de Québec, à un match de hockey de la Ligue nationale, etc.

A la sortie du cinéma, le visiteur se rend "k la salle de l'exposition ou des amusements de toutes sortes sont prévus. Tout d'abord, à. gauche, la forêt enchantée. Au milieu d'une forêt semée d'arbres et de fleurs gigantesques, les enfants, juchés sur d'énormes champignons, communiquent à l'aide d'un téléphone à clavier Digitone avec leur personnage favori des bandes illustrées.

Du monde de la féerie, l'on passe à. celui des jeux, dans une section qui s'intitule "magie du téléphone". Le visiteur peut mesurer son habileté a celle d'une calculatrice électronique.

Plus loin, se déroule un véritable panorama de l'industrie du téléphone, avec les innovations les plus récentes. Grâce à. la commutation électronique, trois personnes et même davantage pourront converser ensemble sur une même ligne téléphonique. Pour illustrer les possibilités de la communication électronique et du clavier Digitone, on a imaginé une démonstration animée avec maisons, magasins à rayons, entrepôts, le tout permettant de voir comment la ménagère de demain pourra faire ses emplettes sans quitter le confort de son foyer. A l'aide du vidéophone, elle pourra, de chez elle, arrêter son choix et commander directement. Des ordinateurs assureront la livraison et la facturation. Cinq cabines ont été aménagées où les visiteurs peuvent faire l'essai des appareils vidéophone.

Au centre du pavillon, on a aménagé des étalages destinés à mettre en valeur des services dérivés de la téléphonie, tels que le larynx artificiel, le réglage de puissance et les postes téléphoniques de secours.

© Expo67 - Rapport Général