World and International Exhibition Montreal 1967 - Expo67

Man and his Universe

April 28, 1967 - October 29, 1967


Back - List of Pavilions

Japan

Japan at the Exhibition Montreal 1967

© expo67

Architect(s) : Dr J. A. A. Yoshinobu Ashihara

The main structure of the pavilion was prefabricated in Japan using pre-stressed concrete beams. The use of articulated wall beams in various lengths has created a beautiful open space effect.

Combining the past with the present, the theme of the pavilion, "Japan in Progress", is divided into three areas: "Harmony with Nature", "Harmony with Tradition" and "Harmony with Technological Progress".

These areas are accessed by means of a moving staircase that takes the visitor to the top floor, from where he or she gradually descends by a gently sloping ramp while visiting the various rooms. The space underneath these elevated areas is integrated into the surrounding gardens. There is space for outdoor activities, water features and a tea garden. It is here that the sub-theme "Harmony with nature" is realized.

"Harmony with tradition". This tradition was respected and as soon as the pavilion was completed, a Shinto priest came here to perform the age-old "Joto-Shiki" rituals to mark the end of a stage, thus marking the respect of customs.

"Harmony with technological progress". The exhibits in this sector are divided into three groups: automatic controls, telecommunications, health and medicine. To illustrate the progress made by the Japanese transportation industry, a collection of cars, motorbikes, boats, etc. are displayed in this area.

The tea garden attracts the visitor with its architecture and the food served. Graceful young Japanese women in kimonos complete the illusion of having a corner of the Land of the Rising Sun, steeped in tradition and progress, on the Earth of Man.

© Expo67 - General Report

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Japon


Japon à l'exposition de Montréal 1967

© expo67
Architecte(s) : Dr J. A. A. Yoshinobu Ashihara

Préfabriquée au Japon, la charpente principale du pavillon est formée de poutres de béton précontraint. L'utilisation de poutres murales articulées en diverses longueurs a permis d'obtenir des espaces libres du plus joli effet.

Alliant le passé au présent, le thème du pavillon "Le Japon en progrès", est réparti en trois secteurs: "Harmonie avec la nature", "Harmonie avec la tradition", "Harmonie avec le progrès technologique".

On accède a ces secteurs au moyen d'un escalier mobile qui conduit le visiteur au dernier étage d'où il descend graduellement par une rampe en pente douce tout en visitant les diverses salles. L'espace sous ces secteurs surélevés est intégré aux jardins environnants. On y trouve une place prévue pour les activités extérieures, des pièces d'eau et un jardin de thé. C'est ici que se concrétise le sous-thème "Harmonie avec la nature".

"Harmonie avec la tradition". Cette tradition fut respectée et dès que la construction du pavillon fut terminée, un prêtre shintoïste vint y célébrer les rites millénaires du "Joto-Shiki" indiquant la fin d'une étape, marquant ainsi les respect des coutumes.

"Harmonie avec le progrès technologique". Les éléments d'exposition de ce secteur sont divisés en trois groupes: les commandes automatiques, les télécommunications, la santé et la médecine. Pour illustrer les progrès accomplis par l'industrie japonaise du transport, on présente dans ce secteur une collection de voitures, de motocyclettes, de bateaux, etc.

Le jardin de thé attire le visiteur par son architecture et par les mets qu'on y sert. De gracieuses jeunes Japonaises en kimono complètent l'illusion d'avoir, sur la Terre des Hommes, un coin du pays du Soleil Levant, imprégné de traditions et de progrès.

© Expo67 - Rapport Général