Back - List of Pavilions

Switzerland - Expo Montreal 1967

Switzerland at the Exhibition Expo Montreal 1967
Architect(s) : Werner Gantenbein

The Swiss pavilion consists of freely articulated cubic elements, with a fully glazed ground floor and a windowless first floor made of natural red cedar.

A general presentation on the ground floor shows how a densely populated area with a small population and no raw materials could achieve a high standard of living. It then provides a comprehensive overview of the most important aspects of Switzerland: history, politics, culture, economy, tourism and transport. Themes such as active neutrality and international solidarity, information, trade and export of services are particularly highlighted. A library and a discotheque offer additional insights into the cultural life of the country.

The achievements of modern technology in Switzerland are presented in a spectacular way on the upper floor. Four sectors in particular stand out: watchmaking, the chemical and pharmaceutical industries, textiles and the energy-producing machine industry. Among the displays are an electronic time switch controlled by a caesium atomic clock and an impressive textile display where, under fantastic lighting conditions, precious fabrics and haute-couture garments are mixed together.

In a 500-seat cinema, a film is shown which successively evokes the beauty of the Swiss landscape, the notion of precision in work and Swiss culture. The film, made using a new process, is placed under the sign of the Wheel, a symbol of movement and continuity.

The pavilion's restaurant on the ground floor offers a menu of specialities from the four main regions of Switzerland: Ticino, German-speaking Switzerland, French-speaking Switzerland and Graubünden.

© Expo67 - General Report

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Suisse


Suisse à l'exposition de Montréal 1967

Architecte(s) : Werner Gantenbein

Composé d'éléments cubiques librement articulés, le pavillon de la Suisse comporte un rez-de-chaussée entièrement vitré et un premier étage sans fenêtres, en cèdre rouge naturel.

Dans une présentation générale, au rez-de-chaussée, on montre comment, sur un territoire exigu et, de plus, montagneux et sans matières premières, une population très dense a pu atteindre un niveau de vie élevé. On fait ensuite un tour d'horizon complet sur les principaux aspects de la Suisse: histoire, politique, culture, économie, tourisme et transports. Les thèmes: neutralité active et solidarité internationale, information, échanges commerciaux, exportation des services sont particulièrement mis en vedette. Une bibliothèque et une discothèque offrent des aperçus complémentaires de la vie culturelle du pays.

Les réalisations de la technique moderne en Suisse sont présentées de manière spectaculaire, à l'étage supérieur. Quatre secteurs retiennent particulièrement l'attention: l'horlogerie, l'industrie chimique et pharmaceutique, les textiles et l'industrie des machines pour la production d'énergie. Parmi les présentations, signalons une centrale horaire électronique pilotée par une horloge atomique au césium et pour présenter les textiles, un impressionnant tableau oh, sous des éclairages fantastiques, se mêlent, a des flots de tissus précieux, des vêtements de haute-couture .

Dans un cinéma de 500 places, on présente un film qui évoque successivement les beautés du paysage suisse, la notion de précision dans le travail et la culture helvétique. Ce film, réalisé selon un procédé nouveau, est placé sous le signe de la Roue, symbole de mouvement et de continuité.

Le restaurant du pavillon, au rez-de-chaussée, offre une carte des spécialités des quatre grandes régions de la Suisse: le Tessin, la Suisse alémanique, la Suisse romande et les Grisons.

© Expo67 - Rapport Général