Back - List of Pavilions

Austria -

Austria at the Exhibition Expo Montreal 1967
Architect(s) : Dr Karl Schwanzer

The Austrian pavilion near Swan Lake is reminiscent of the crystal structure with its geometric patterns. It is built "from prefabricated elements. The frameworks are made of aluminium and the panels of wood. From the roof, a 120-foot (37 m) spire, illuminated in the national colours, can be seen for miles around.

Austria, in its version of the Expo theme, Man and His World, presents art and literature, science and research, industry and crafts. The role that this country, synonymous with joie de vivre but also with precision and scientific rigour, plays in the heart of Europe is also highlighted.

On the first floor, the impressive Austrovision audiovisual show offers visitors a poetic, realistic and humorous picture of Austria. The Austrovision is based on the book Imago Austriae by Otto Schulmeister, Christoph Allmayer-Beck and Erich Lessing and is the most important source of information about Austria. The artistic director is Otto Schenk, a well-known actor and director.

The Wienerwald restaurant on the ground floor of the pavilion can accommodate over 100 guests. Food, wine and local beer are served to the music of Anton Karas, author of the famous theme song for the film "The Third Man".

© Expo67 - General Report

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Autriche


Autriche à l'exposition de Montréal 1967

Architecte(s) : Dr Karl Schwanzer

A proximité du lac des Cygnes, le pavillon de l'Autriche rappelle, par ses motifs géométriques, la structure du cristal. Il est construit "a partir d'éléments préfabriqués. Les charpentes sont en aluminium et les panneaux en bois. Du toit, s'élance une flèche de 120 pieds (37 m), illuminée aux couleurs nationales et visible de plusieurs milles a la ronde.

L'Autriche, dans sa version du thème de l'Expo, Terre des Hommes, présente l'art et la littérature, la science et la recherche, l'industrie et l'artisanat. On souligne également le rôle que ce pays, synonyme de joie de vivre mais aussi de précision et de rigueur scientifique, joue au coeur de l'Europe.

A l'étage, l'Austrovision, impressionnant spectacle audiovisuel, offre aux visiteurs une image a la fois poétique, réaliste et humoristique de l'Autriche. Principale source d'information sur l'Autriche, le spectacle de l'Austrovision se fonde sur le livre d'Otto Schulmeister, de Christoph Allmayer-Beck et d'Erich Lessing, Imago Austriae. La direction artistique du spectacle a été confiée a Otto Schenk, acteur et metteur en scène bien connu.

Le restaurant Wienerwald, installé au rez-de-chaussée du pavillon, peut recevoir plus de 100 convives. Mets, vins et bières du pays sont servis aux accents de la musique de Anton Karas, auteur de la fameuse chanson-thème du film "le troisième homme".

© Expo67 - Rapport Général